Firefox 3 problems

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by 204467, Oct 1, 2008.

  1. 204467 macrumors 6502a

    204467

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #1
    This never used to happen, but one day it started happening and I don't know how to fix it. Whenever I open Firefox now, the window is always maximized. When I hit the green button again, it goes to its correct shape, but in its incorrect location that I have it set at (I have it placed so that when Vuze is open, I can check download/upload speeds without having to switch windows). I want to know why it always maximizes now, is there a way to make it open in my desired window size every time?

    Also, this is a little unrelated, but it always happens. The Google search bar from the Google toolbar always opens in its smallest state, while I like it to be bigger. Can I make a certain size be the default it opens at?
     
  2. ltldrummerboy macrumors 68000

    ltldrummerboy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #2
    Try repairing disk permissions. I doubt it will work but it can't hurt to try. I honestly have no idea why it's doing this.
     
  3. 204467 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    204467

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #3
    Thanks for the suggestion. How do I do this?

    Alternate theory: It may have started when I most recently updated Firefox, not sure though.
     
  4. ltldrummerboy macrumors 68000

    ltldrummerboy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #4
    Open disk utility and select your internal HD and then repair permissions.
     
  5. SHADO macrumors 6502a

    SHADO

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Beach
    #5
    Well, in Vuze if you go View-->Advanced-->Transfers Bar, a little bar will come up w/ur download and upload speed, which you can drag anywhere, and it's small so itll fit in tiny places :) so u could put that at the bottom or ur firefox window. Also, I would try uninstalling and re-downloading firefox to fix ur window size problem. Good Luck
     
  6. 204467 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    204467

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #6
    Thanks for the tip with Vuze, though that's not the main reason I want this problem to stop. Does anyone know how to fix the problem with the Google search bar in the Google Toolbar, or am i stuck with this?
     
  7. SHADO macrumors 6502a

    SHADO

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Beach
    #7
    Well like I said, I would try re-installing Firefox.
     
  8. 204467 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    204467

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #8
    Well, for some reason, Firefox now opens in the window size it's supposed to. Go figure. I didn't even do anything to it, either.
     

Share This Page