Firefox 4.0 Beta 2 released

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by clevin, Jul 26, 2010.

  1. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #1

    Attached Files:

  2. JasonZ10 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    #2
    the theme on the 2nd pic is sexy, whats it called?
     
  3. Caleb531 macrumors 6502

    Caleb531

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    #3
    I'm really looking forward to Firefox 4.

    It's not a theme, it's a Persona. I don't know what that one is called, but here's the repository:
    http://www.getpersonas.com

    I'm not really a fan of Personas, but that screenshot looks much nicer than what I've seen (the Persona actually blends with the title bar like it's supposed to).

    UPDATE: Installed and using the new beta. It's pretty nice; I think I might stick with it for now.
     
  4. JasonZ10 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    #4
    Yeah, I installed it too, it seems like Safari is faster though.. :S

    EDIT: I'm using that exact persona on Firefox right now :)
     
  5. Caleb531 macrumors 6502

    Caleb531

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    #5
    So, what's it called?
     
  6. JasonZ10 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
  7. reubs macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    #7
    Sorry if this has been mentioned before, but what's the best way to run the FF 4 beta alongside the latest stable FF? I love using FF (when I'm not using Safari), but I also rely heavily on extensions.

    Would it be as easy as renaming the app in the DMG to something like Firefox 4?

    Thanks for any info!
     
  8. iFanboy Guest

    #8
    OMG. Firefox 4 with personas looks like sex :eek:

    Although, does anyone know what persona this is?

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    • ff.png
      ff.png
      File size:
      460 KB
      Views:
      46
  9. Caleb531 macrumors 6502

    Caleb531

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    #9
    I believe it is this one.
     
  10. Michaelgtrusa macrumors 604

    Michaelgtrusa

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Everywhere And Nowhere
    #11
    Who has made flash work with this release?

    Multifirefox will let you run 2 versions. http://davemartorana.com/multifirefox/
     
  11. Prospekt macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
  12. ergdegdeg Moderator emeritus

    ergdegdeg

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #14
    It doesn't work if you use the 64 bit version. Flash is 32 bit only (at least for OS X). So if you want to use Flash, you have to use 32 bit Firefox.
     
  13. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #15
    its the same on window 7 too, adobe says they are working on 64bit flash plugin now.
     
  14. Michaelgtrusa macrumors 604

    Michaelgtrusa

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Everywhere And Nowhere
    #16
    I did not see the 32bit option to download and I will need the compatibility reporter.
     
  15. Michaelgtrusa macrumors 604

    Michaelgtrusa

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Everywhere And Nowhere
    #17
    I cannot get many of the addons to work regardless of the compatibility reporter.
     
  16. ergdegdeg Moderator emeritus

    ergdegdeg

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    #18
    The compatibility reporter only lets you enable them, it does not make them work. That's the developers' responsibility and Firefox can't really do something about that, unfortunately.
     
  17. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #19
    you can create new entry in about:config and set name to extensions.checkCompatibility.4.0b with value as false

    It doesn't work in all cases, but most should work.
     
  18. David. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    #20
    Why is it that they can't put the tabs truly on top like they were in the Safari Beta a while back? It bothers me that there is all that space above the tabs on the top. I don't care about the title bar! Same thing with Google Chrome (which is what I have been using). I just wish I could remove that little space at the top between the tabs and the top of the browser.
     
  19. clevin thread starter macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #21
    Many users need title space to move the window around, dragging title space also perform a set of functions in windows 7. Previous safari style tab on top cause significant problem in that area.

    Im sure google, opera and mozilla performed investigation before they reach the conclusion. Which I happen to think is the right one, a 20px viewing space is not worth the function loss and usage debacle.
     
  20. Discaciate macrumors member

    Discaciate

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    #22
    I'm an old time firefox user and newbie to the Firefox + Mac combo.
    Loving it so far, and this beta only made me love it even more!

    One question: is it possible to move the "Close Tab" button from the right to the left? That would keep it consistent with the whole Mac OSX experience. Just like in Safari.
     

Share This Page