Firefox 4 idle CPU issue

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by saxon48, Mar 30, 2011.

  1. saxon48 macrumors 6502a

    saxon48

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    Barad-dûr
    #1
    Been having some difficulty with Firefox 4 ever since I downloaded it, something that never really happened with version 3.x

    If I have two tabs open, say Facebook and MR, Firefox hovers at about 7-15% CPU, with my 7 or 8 addons enabled (including Flashblock). Under the same conditions in Safari (similar extensions and all), CPU hovers around 0-2%. I know it's not a desperately pressing issue, but that extra CPU usage affects my battery life in the long run, and also raises the laptop's temperature a good 8-10 degrees Fahrenheit.

    The addons I use have all been updated by the developers, and I use only a bare minimum of plugins. I tried safe mode, a clean install, and making a new FF profile, but to no avail. Any help would be greatly appreciated on the matter.

    Haven't really found anyone else with this issue yet...
     
  2. saxon48 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    saxon48

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    Barad-dûr
  3. JamesMB macrumors 68000

    JamesMB

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    I just had 9 tabs open and FF was using between 2.1 and 3.4%, and one of them was TWC, running flash. I don't use a Flash blocker at all in FF.
    I have had problems with FF and themes in the past...I finally removed all the themes and just use the default.
     
  4. saxon48 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    saxon48

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    Barad-dûr
    #4

    I've never used a theme.
     
  5. saxon48 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    saxon48

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    Barad-dûr
  6. saxon48 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    saxon48

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Location:
    Barad-dûr
    #6
    Hate to bump this, but the problem persists in 5.0.1. This is even more frustration because of the recent RAM issues with Safari 5.1, so Firefox would normally be my fallback, if not for this recurring issue.
     

Share This Page