Firefox 4 is finally 64bit!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Kosimo, Mar 22, 2011.

  1. Kosimo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #1
    Did anybody know this? I though Safari was the only 64bit navigator for the mac platform. [​IMG]
     
  2. endless17 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
  3. Kenndac macrumors 6502

    Kenndac

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    #3
    Now it can hog all of your RAM, not just the 4Gb 32-bit apps are limited to.
     
  4. Kosimo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #4
    How come nobody actually said anything about it?

    Shouldn't this be an important feature for Mac Users?
     
  5. YsoSerious macrumors 6502

    YsoSerious

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    #5
    Took firefox for a spin tonight and thought it performed pretty good. I'm so used to chrome that it's gonna be hard going back and using firefox again.
     
  6. Merkyworks macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
  7. OneMike macrumors 603

    OneMike

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    #7
    that was my first thought lol
     
  8. ScoobyMcDoo macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #8
    Only for those who obsess over the larger number of bits.
     
  9. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #9
    COOL,
    except what does this buy us, what improvement will a 64bit browser be over a 32bit browser?
     
  10. talmy macrumors 601

    talmy

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Location:
    Oregon
    #10
    64-bit code runs a bit faster than 32-bit code because the 64-bit processor architecture is more efficient (more registers).
     

Share This Page