Firefox after waking up

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Natalia81, Aug 28, 2007.

  1. Natalia81 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    #1
    After I wake my computer up, firefox takes forever to go. If I have firefox up before putting my MBP to sleep, then wake it up, as soon as I try to access a site (refresh/link) in firefox it will freeze up for awhile and get the beach ball. The same thing happens when I start up firefox after waking up. The icon in the dock bounces up and hangs there for a while. I find that it takes over 30 seconds to respond. And most of the time when I do get a response the site cannot be found. I have to hit refresh for it work.

    I just got the 2.2 MBP last week and am running the latest firefox. I have not upgraded the RAM or installed any other software besides Office for Mac. I have installed all updates except the airport updates.

    :confused:
     
  2. ale500 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #2
    I do not se that problem when I wake up my MB. Are you connecting via Airport ?, maybe that connection is taking a while...

    You can test that in the following manner... open a termina and type something like

    ping www.apple.com

    now put your machine to sleep
    wake it

    And see how many ping were lost... one per second... if that time is similar to the "wake up" from ff, well is your connection.

    If not, well check if you have the latest version, if the config is not trashed, if you have automatic updates off, etc.

    What happens with Safari ?

    (You can check the same via ethernet...)

    If you are using a proxy, well try to ping the proxy server instead
     
  3. Cybergypsy macrumors 68040

    Cybergypsy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Central Florida!
    #3
    I also have a foxfire was fine for a while then when i start it it said invalid url.....ok.....on every bookmark, back to safari
     
  4. WhySoSerious macrumors 65816

    WhySoSerious

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #4

    why didn't you update airport? i think that's your problem. get all your updates.....it's silly not to.
     
  5. Natalia81 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    #5
    Because I kept reading on here that the new updates were causing more problems with airport.
     
  6. vicious7 macrumors 6502a

    vicious7

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Location:
    Jacked into the net...
    #6
    Hm, I have the latest update and sometimes firefox doesn't load pages completely. I have to refresh the page to get a complete load.
     
  7. elcid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    #7
    Well it wont work right away if you are using wireless. Make sure you're connected by using the ping command then try.

    I use Camino, put out by Firefox but only for Macs.
     
  8. WhySoSerious macrumors 65816

    WhySoSerious

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #8
    don't listen to crap like that. get your updates for your computer.

    got my MBP 2 weeks ago; installed Fire Fox; installed wireless Airport; installed ALL available system/program updates.......thing runs flawlessly.

    you're going to run into problems when you start selectively updating some things and not others. keep your system up-to-date and your programs up-to-date.
     
  9. Natalia81 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    #9
    I went home and tried a few different things after waking my MBP up.

    - as soon as it woke up, tried the ping (via terminal) and it couldn't find anything. Entered the ping command again and it worked (how do you stop it from pinging???)

    - tried opening up safari, and that did not find an internet connection. Had to do a refresh for it to pick it up.

    - firefox sometimes takes way longer to re-establish a connection.
     
  10. ale500 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    #10
    Natalia81:

    With Control-C you terminate the ping command in the terminal.

    Did you see the same delays between the ping test and the firefox re- connection ? , if so, well is so :):apple:
     
  11. Natalia81 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    #11
    Thanks, I'll try that when I get home.

    No, I didn't see the same delays. The ping test was much quicker getting reconnected. (At times) Firefox took many refresh and bookmark selecting to connect.
     

Share This Page