Firefox and Safari Crashing!! HELP!!!

Discussion in 'macOS' started by punknart, Nov 26, 2009.

  1. punknart macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    #1
    Hi,

    I got a macbook pro 2.8 GHZ, 500GB, 4GB RAM, and when I open flash webpages like youtube, it always crashes!!! I first select the video I want to watch and when I tried to fast forward it ( I just click anywhere in the bar to see the video not from the beginning) it always crashes. Firefox says that there was a problem so that it will close, Safari just freezes and sometimes appears a message saying that there was a problem with the module containing flash player. I already tried to uninstall both browsers and I installed them again, I also tried downloading the last flash player and nothing.

    Both browsers are sometimes a bit slow, for example when Im scrolling or typing something.

    I dont know if something is wrong with my laptop, I bought it 2 months ago.

    Please, does any know whats wrong?

    thanks
     
  2. bonecracker macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #2
    I had the exact problem, I posted two days ago.
    You have to go to Library and find internet plugins and then delete flashplayer plugin. I restarted the macbook and that seems to work. I then went to apple downloads and found the flash player plugin and loaded that. It seems to work ok now. Hope that helps
     
  3. punknart thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    #3
    Hi, Thanks for your reply. It now work better and I get the message less times, but I still got the same problem. Im now worried with my computer because when I write in skype it also freezes for seconds. I type the words and they appear some seconds later. Im now writing here and is alright. Its strange. I got TECHTOOL and I have done several checks and it appears to be everything fine, except some files that are not relevant that are supposed to have issues.... Dont know what to do
     
  4. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
  5. punknart thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    #5
  6. bonecracker macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #6
    Have you tried to repair disk permissions, that also worked for me and seems to be running ok now.
     
  7. punknart thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    #7
    Yeah I tried that and nothing. In the forum I posted before it depends from each user, I might take the mac to an apple store, but Im not sure if they can help, at least thats what some users said.

    I had tried to use all Techtool "tools" but nothing appears to change. It sometimes behaves as it should, fast, no freezes, no beach ball, but then it starts to freeze for 1 or 2 seconds.
     
  8. ipedro macrumors 68040

    ipedro

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #8
    My issue is with Safari. It slows down frequently and I've experienced crashes at least a dozen times a week. I even installed a Flash blocker which is often the main reason for stalls/crashes.

    The disturbing problem here is that Safari takes the whole OS hostage by taking over the vast majority of system resources.
     
  9. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #9
    Is this possibly an OSX Snow Leopard related bug? If so, it could take another update to iron it out.
     
  10. Warcraft Tauren macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    #10
    turn off techtool pro. go to preferences --> techtool pro and click on stop.

    whenever i had it on it would slow down my mac to a crawl (like you couldn't even open any applications) after a couple of days since last restart. When techtool pro is off i have no problems. So try turning off tech tool pro and see if that helps.

    you can still keep the tech tool installed, and test for errors. just turn it off in the preferences, and test through the app instead.
     
  11. Washac macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #11
    I cannot see no techtool pro in prefs and I have the slowdown crash problems with Safari and Firefox.....
     
  12. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #12
    I don't understand that post either. I have TTP, but it only runs when I tell it to.
     
  13. Warcraft Tauren macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    #13
    thats weird cause its definitely in my preferences pane. And in there you can turn on protection features (detects volume limit and reminds when you there is a certain percentage free left on the hard drive, etc). I turned it off cause it was slowing down my comp and couldn't open any applications(and I know this cause after I turned it off everything has been normal). Its Techtool Pro 5 version 5.0.6. Got it from one the deals you get from MacPromo.

    What version do you have?
     
  14. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #14
    If that was to me, I have 4.6.2 with OS 10.5.8

    I don't have TTP Preferences. At least, I couldn't find it in a Menu.
     
  15. ipedro macrumors 68040

    ipedro

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #15
    Safari is FIXED!! :D

    Wow! As I described above, I was having major issues with Safari for the last few months and I didn't know what caused this to suddenly happen.

    I'd get a lot of beachballs, often my browser would freeze up and several times a week, Safari would just plain crash. If that were the only problem, I could deal with it, but Safari would also begin hogging 190% of my CPU resources and tons of memory bogging down the entire OS!

    I recently installed a 25Mbps connection to deal with speed issues but that didn't fix it... so I attributed the problems to the latest revision of Safari...

    ... well, I just changed my DNS settings to Google's new DNS service and BAM! Every website I've thrown at Safari loads in an instant!

    It was my damn ISP's DNS routing system that was breaking Safari!!

    Some URLs would take a noticeable pause to resolve. Now, I type in a URL, hit enter and it instantly loads the page. I can also type a URL without the .com and it'll figure it out whereas before, I would get my ISP's page full of ads and unhelpful URL suggestions.

    Thank you Google!! :D

    Here are instructions on how to change your DNS settings to Google's
     

Share This Page