Firefox and Spelling Question

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by maczod, Jul 21, 2008.

  1. maczod macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #1
    Hello!!

    I bought my first macbook last week and I'm really loving it :)

    Quick questions:

    - how do I use the auto spell check in Mac OS? I see the red underline but when I right click, there's no suggestion for words?

    - when I click on a firefox bookmark with my middle mouse, it usually opens a new tab in Windows, how do I do this in Firefox Mac?

    THANKS!!!
     
  2. pjrobertson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #2
    for Q2: Make sure that 'New pages should be opened in:' is set to 'a new tab' under the Tabs setting. (Get to the preferences with CMD + ,)

    Q1: It should work. If you're talking about Firefox, it doesn't use the Mac OS X spell checker, but its own. Make sure you have a dictionary installed.
    Right click should work though.
     
  3. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #3
    if you mean bookmark MENU, then no, OSX system menu is different than windows', mozilla hasn't get this working yet, so it only will open in current tab a of now.
     
  4. maczod thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #4
    For some reason, I can't seem to get the spell check menu to pop up. I don't know how to take a screen shot (with the mouse's right clck menu) so I snapped a digital picture:

    [​IMG]
     
  5. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #5
    u can press shift+cmd+4 and then drag to selct area to capture screenshot.

    for firefox. what language version do you have? and what addons do you have?
     
  6. maczod thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #6
    That's an awesome tip, much thanks!! :)

    [​IMG]

    Language = English. Default language (I didn't change it).
     
  7. maczod thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
  8. maczod thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    #8
  9. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #9
    yes indeed, i was about to guess AIO-Gesture, And I was about to suggest FireGetures (Im using now) .... :D

    This happened with firegestures previously, it disables the spellchecking in lunix and OSX, it was fixed in ver 1.1.

    I guess AIO has this problem too.

    Glad you got it working, FireGestures is a very good choice, it allows smoother trail than others. Enjoy :)
     

Share This Page