Firefox and Yosemite?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Jericho14, Jan 3, 2015.

  1. Jericho14 macrumors member

    Jericho14

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Location:
    South Florida
    #1
    Any idea when Yosemite will support Mozilla Firefox?
     
  2. Michaelgtrusa macrumors 604

    Michaelgtrusa

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Everywhere And Nowhere
    #2
    Yes Firefox runs fine, i'm using the beta.
     
  3. Jericho14, Jan 3, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2015

    Jericho14 thread starter macrumors member

    Jericho14

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2014
    Location:
    South Florida
    #3
    I just upgraded to Mozilla Firefox Beta, and it works just fine now.
    There must have been a glitch with the other version after I installed Yosemite. Thanks for your information.
     
  4. robert05au macrumors regular

    robert05au

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Location:
    Dubbo, NSW
    #4
    check the extensions in firefox these sometimes can cause issues.

    I had similar issues I just replaced the app and all now seems fine.
     
  5. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #5
    running firefox 34.0 on yosemite.. runs fine.


    however flashblock no longer works. (extension issue)
     
  6. alex0002, Jan 5, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2015

    alex0002 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #6
    Do you mean flashblock doesn't work at all, which was true a few weeks ago, or did you mean there are some bugs using it with certain sites?

    If not working at all, did you update to the latest version 1.5.18 update from a few weeks ago?
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/flashblock/

    I'm using it on Mavericks, but there was a major problem using the previous flashblock, which appeared to be due to some changes introduced in Firefox 34.0, nothing to do with Yosemite. Now fixed in the latest 1.5.18 update.
     
  7. northernmunky macrumors 6502a

    northernmunky

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Location:
    London, Taipei
    #7
    Am I missing something? Since when did Firefox not work on Yosemite?
     
  8. b0fh666 macrumors 6502a

    b0fh666

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Location:
    south
  9. Transmission.ap macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    #9
    I needed a second browser for some websites that require an extension (and adblock doesn't work that well in Safari) and I was going for Firefox instead of Chrome.

    Sadly, the most memory hungry browser of all time, is 32 bit. I declared war on 32 bit apps.
     
  10. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #10
    I updated Firefox with latest flashblock and it works fine now. thanks for the info. The problem did originate with firefox 34.0.
     
  11. Partron22 macrumors 68000

    Partron22

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Location:
    Yes
    #11
    This is an excellent question.
     

Share This Page