Firefox app on desktop, how to get rid of it

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by rhett7660, Feb 22, 2008.

1. rhett7660 macrumors G4

rhett7660

Hello..

I am new to the Mac OS so I am still trying to figure it out. I just installed FF. Now there the app sitting on my desktop. I have it also in the applications folder and on the dock but how do I get it off the desktop? I am sure this is easy, I just don't know how. I don't want to drag it to the trash can for fear I might erase it/corrupt it, same feeling if I hit the delete key.

Thanks

2. psychofreak Retired

psychofreak

3. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

edesignuk

If you have it in your Apps folder already you can just trash the copy on the desktop, no problem.

Probably also best to remove the icon you have in the dock (as it might be referring to the one on the desktop that you're about to trash). Then re-add the dock icon from the Firefox app in your Apps folder.

4. tersono macrumors 68000

tersono

Drag it to your /Applications folder. If it's already in your Applications folder, then trash it - you don't need two copies.

5. rhett7660 thread starter macrumors G4

rhett7660

Ok.. when I drag it to the trash can it says it can't eject it....... When I click on it to highlight it, then hit the delete button nothing happens.

6. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

edesignuk

OK, so you don't have the app on your desktop. You have the mounted DMG (disk image) you downloaded with the application inside it.

if you can't eject it it's because what ever is inside it is in use, in this case you must be running Firefox from it right now.

So, close Firefox, make sure you have copied the Firefox app from the disk image to /Applications. Now you should be able to eject the disk image and run Firefox from your copy in /Applications.

7. rhett7660 thread starter macrumors G4

rhett7660

edesignuk

Thank you, as soon as I am back at my office I will try that and post back.

Thanks again~!