Firefox blocks Flash, and Facebook calls for its death

Discussion in 'Apple, Inc and Tech Industry' started by heehee, Jul 14, 2015.

  1. heehee macrumors 68020

    heehee

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Location:
    Same country as Santa Claus
    #1
    http://money.cnn.com/2015/07/14/tec...k/index.html?sr=fbmoney071415firefox1000story
     
  2. samauden macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    #2
    I have not known about this and spent much amount of time in installing Adobe flash player, but in Vain. Now I am using Chrome, which has in built Adobe flash player. Hope google don't follow the same suit
     
  3. Khalanad75 macrumors 6502

    Khalanad75

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2015
    Location:
    land of confusion
    #3
    It just needs to die. I am so tired of updating it for my kids.
     
  4. skinned66 macrumors 65816

    skinned66

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #4
    When it finally dies, can somebody please urinate on it too please?
     
  5. rhett7660 macrumors G4

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
    #5
    Hahahahahahah......... This is funny stuff right here.
     
  6. thewap macrumors demi-god

    thewap

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    #6
    Flash flood?
     
  7. SactoGuy18 macrumors 68020

    SactoGuy18

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA USA
    #7
    Good riddance to Adobe Flash. Not only is it a security risk, but it also tremendously hogs system resources. [​IMG]

    Now that the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) finalized the HTML 5.0 specification as of 28 October 2014, we no longer need Flash except in some very special circumstances. I wouldn't be surprised the online ad providers will require all ads to be rendered in HTML 5.0 only very soon, especially now that Firefox blocks Flash by default and Microsoft's new Edge web browser for Windows 10 no longer supports the Flash plugin.
     
  8. Michaelgtrusa macrumors 604

    Michaelgtrusa

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Everywhere And Nowhere
    #8
    Opera is doing this in the current stable release but you can reenable it via the flags.
     
  9. Tech198 macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #9
    If Flash is so horrible coded and crashes, slows down and the main reason for draining battery on phones, why does Chrome use it ?

    Even though Chrome is Pepper-based flash, its still from Adobe...... What's to stop Adobe from doing the same ting to Pepper, since this would be where Google gets theirs from anyway...
     
  10. webbuzz macrumors 65816

    webbuzz

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
  11. LIVEFRMNYC macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    #11
    I blocked FF awhile ago. It too always seems to have memory leaks. Ironic.
     
  12. east85 macrumors 65816

    east85

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #12
    I've been mostly Flash free in my browsing since 2013 or so, when I installed Click2Plugin for Safari. On my latest clean install I didn't even bother installing flash on my system. HTML5 is prominent enough now that it never negatively impacts my browsing experience to see it gone. It is a huge resource hog, security aside. I'm glad to see it finally be phased out.
     
  13. aaronvan Suspended

    aaronvan

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Location:
    República Cascadia
    #13
    Lynx users never had to worry about Flash.
     

Share This Page