Firefox Bug? Stinkin' White Box

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by bobber205, Jun 21, 2007.

  1. bobber205 macrumors 68020

    bobber205

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #1
    :(

    Does this happen to you?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #2
    could you be any more specific about where this is showing up and how?
     
  3. bobber205 thread starter macrumors 68020

    bobber205

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #3
    I'm never quite sure. It's usually a tooltip box or something similar that just never goes away until I quit Firefox.
     
  4. bradywill macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #4
    I get it all the time

    Looks exactly the same and man is it annoying. Sits over everything so if you move your browser window it floats over your desktop or whatever program is beneath. G5 PowerPC with Firefox 2.0.0.4. Have to quit and restart Firefox to get rid of it.

    Not sure what causes it but I used tabbed browsing quite a bit. it shows up just beneath my tabs.
     
  5. DeathAxe macrumors newbie

    DeathAxe

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    #5
    I'm having the same problem. I use tabbed browsing a lot and it happens everytime I use Firefox.
     
  6. someguy macrumors 68020

    someguy

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Location:
    Still here.
  7. darogo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    #7
    has anyone found a cure for this?

    i can't take that white box anymore. it shows up over everything. please let me know if you know how to fix it.

    thanks.
     
  8. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    2 solutions

    There's 2 solutions I'm aware of. It is tooltip related.

    1) If you hover over the item that created the tooltip in the first place the white box will disappear.

    2) In the location bar type in "about:config" (w/o quotes of course). In the filter bar type in "toolbar_tips" This should limit down to one listing. Double click it and its value will change to false. This will however mean that you don't get any tooltips, but does work.

    Hopefully Firefox will get this issue resolved so you don't have to take these actions. Not sure if the bug has been submitted either if someone else wants to check.
     
  9. ssuzyk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    #9
    that white box drives me crazy!

    I get it all the time, both on my ibook and on my G5. Firefox has had 2 or 3 updates available since the problem started but it hasn't been fixed yet. I checked the "issues" section on the firefox website and it had nothing about it.

    :confused:
     
  10. hessdesigns macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #10
    I think it mostly happens for me when a tool tip shows up, then I switch to a new application with :apple:+TAB. It's like FF doesn't realize your mouse has moved. Like the previous poster said, just hover over a tab and a new tool tip will show up, getting rid of that pesky lagger.
     
  11. ssuzyk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    #11
    it works!

    thanks so much! (if only i could have figured that out several months ago....)
     

Share This Page