Firefox - Can't right click bookmarks

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by adder7712, Jun 3, 2009.

  1. adder7712 macrumors 68000

    adder7712

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    I can't right click my bookmarks, especially RSS feeds that appear as a drop-down menu (on the toolbar). I tried to right click on one RSS feed so I can open it in a new tab but there's no right click menu.
     
  2. Aronnax macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #2
    Have you ever seen another Mac app. which support similar behavior.
    Likely not ;-)

    By the way:
    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=420754
     
  3. adder7712 thread starter macrumors 68000

    adder7712

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    So it's a bug then?

    They haven't fixed it in 3.5B4...
     
  4. Aronnax macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #4
    Maybe is it not possible on Mac OS X.
    Or it is anyway not a usual Mac behavior and this is a reason not to spend time for a possible fix.

    Or other bugs are more important ... and it will be fixed later ... or .. who knows ;-)
     
  5. jon08 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    #5
    Speaking of Firefox bookmarks.. why doesn't left-click grabbing a bookmark and placing it wherever you feel like on the list work on Firefox for mac?
     
  6. Aronnax macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #6
    You can`t do the same with Safari, Camino .. or whatever.
    It is therefore likely a limitation from the system.

    But you can do it on Firefox with the bookmarks from the Bookmarks Toolbar.
    There use Firefox his own system (XUL for the user interface) .. on the main toolbar use it there again the system stuff with this limitation.
     
  7. jon08 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    #7
    Yeah that I know.. just wished I could do it straight from the browser, like you could do in Windows version of Firefox..
     
  8. bender7 macrumors newbie

    bender7

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    #8
    i was able to do it a few weeks ago... and now all of a sudden i can't do it anymore. weird. the only option is to hold down the command key.
     
  9. glenno macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    #9
    If you mean right-clicking for drop-down contextual menus, then sure, plenty. Indeed, this particular right-click behavior works in Firefox on the Mac -- but only in the Organize Bookmarks folder, not on the toolbar drop-downs, which seems to be a bug.

    An irritating bug!
     
  10. glenno macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    #10
    Huh, that doesn't bring up the contextual drop-down menu for me.
     
  11. morfeas-dsl- macrumors member

    morfeas-dsl-

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
  12. shiftype macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    #12
    Found a fix for this.

    • Go to about:config in your browser
    • Search for the preference: ui.click_hold_context_menus
    • Set that sucker to TRUE
    • Quit the Fox and restart
    Now, just click and hold to get the context menus on the bookmarks.
     
  13. cbgbstokyo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #13
    Doesn't work

    Nope, sorry, doesn't work. With Chrome on the Mac you can right-click on Bookmark entries (both in the Bookmark toolbar and in Other Bookmarks) and get a nice pop-up menu like you do in Windows, but doesn't work in Firefox. Yes, you can right click on items sitting directly in the Bookmarks Bar, and you can also get it if you open Bookmark Manager and click on bookmarks there, but still no-go from either the Firefox Bookmarks menu or from bookmarks embedded in folders on Firefox's bookmarks toolbar.
     
  14. Turian.Spectre macrumors regular

    Turian.Spectre

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    #14
    Did not work for me either...
     
  15. Caleb531 macrumors 6502

    Caleb531

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    #15
    Let me clarify the issue: it's not a bug with Firefox at all. No menu anywhere in Mac OS X lets you right-click within it. Period.

    The only reason it works in the bookmarks toolbar is because it's not really a native menu. It looks like it, but it's not (you can tell; clicking the menu separator would normally close it).

    Hope that clears things up. :D
     
  16. Turian.Spectre macrumors regular

    Turian.Spectre

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    #16
    thanks. soooo, is there ANY (safe) way to get it to do that then? =/
     
  17. Caleb531 macrumors 6502

    Caleb531

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    #17
    Sorry to say, there is no easy/safe way of doing it.
     
  18. thnidu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #18
    :( I won't ask, "Is it supposed to be that way?", b/c apparently it is. But... WHY? This would be so useful. Does somebody think it would open to door to hacks? user errors? what? :confused:
     

Share This Page