firefox displaying gibberish (imac)

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by maeglutz, Mar 23, 2010.

  1. maeglutz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    #1
    well, this happened a few weeks ago when i installed an update. i tried to fix the problem by changing the default serif and sans serif fonts, but it didn't work. does anyone know what's up with this? here are some screen shots. as you can see, i did a search for the word "boogie" (first word that popped in my head) and the search results SHOW the word boogie but nothing else.

    i just used safari these past few weeks, but i should probably fix this problem.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    Disable your extensions. Does the problem persist?
     
  3. maeglutz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    #3
    should i disable them by restarting while holding down shift, or another way?
     
  4. maeglutz thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    #4
    hey, sorry this took a few days.
    when started up with extensions disabled, the problem does NOT persist. what does this mean?

    also, dreamweaver was having the same problem with the gibberish.

    thanks
     
  5. Patrick J macrumors 65816

    Patrick J

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Oporto, Portugal
    #5
    Try fixing your fonts in the font book application.
     
  6. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #6
    It probably means that one of your extensions is causing a problem. Are they all updated to the latest version? The next thing to try would be to disable them one by one to try and narrow down which extension is the culprit.
     
  7. Patrick J macrumors 65816

    Patrick J

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Oporto, Portugal
    #7
    This indicates it is somewhere outside Firefox?
     
  8. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #8
    Maybe, but I don't really understand how Dreamweaver factors into any of this.
     
  9. Patrick J macrumors 65816

    Patrick J

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Oporto, Portugal
    #9
    Maybe Dreamweaver was exporting / previewing pages using Firefox, so if Firefox fonts were messed up, the Dreamweaver page would be messed up as well.
     

Share This Page