General Firefox for IOS is out! Tweaks?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by hakr100, Nov 12, 2015.

  1. hakr100 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Location:
    East Coast
    #1
    Just downloaded and ran Firefox for IOS on my iPhone 6 plus. Works very well, and to me is a lot less clunky and easier to use than either IOS Safari or Chrome. Now, what is needed is a tweak that when you call up a webpage from another app, such as email, Firefox is involved instead of Safari.

    Or am I dreaming?
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    You aren't dreaming. The tweak just hasn't been updated for iOS 9 yet.

    Incidentally, although I've installed FF, I don't think it's going to replace Dolphin for me anytime soon. I'm quite used to Dolphin's interface (it has a quick launcher) and it was Mozilla compliant/similar long before FF was released for iOS.

    Just my two cents on that.
     
  3. hakr100 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Location:
    East Coast
    #3
    Ahh, thanks. What is the tweak called, so I can keep an eye out for it?
     
  4. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #4
    Browser Changer
     
  5. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #5
    Hey, guess what? Browser Changer works on 9.0.2. Just installed it and tried it. Thought "What the hell, I'll give it a shot". It works!
     
  6. lyceumHQ macrumors 6502a

    lyceumHQ

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #6
    I've waited for Firefox for iOS for years as it's my main browser. But I'll be sticking to perfect browser as it's one of the few browsers that has actual proper tabs that are shown across the top like on the iPad.

    I don't like having to go to a separate screen to switch tabs. As there's really no need for that to happen. Why more browsers don't have the tabs across the top is beyond me.

    Disappointed Firefox can't give us proper tabs.
     
  7. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #7
    Browser Chooser is another one to look out for.
     
  8. HankHowdy macrumors 68040

    HankHowdy

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Location:
    Victorville CA
    #8

    I think Atomic has tabs that are shown across the top of the page.
     
  9. lyceumHQ macrumors 6502a

    lyceumHQ

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #9
    It does. I used Atomic before perfect but the dev abandoned it and features stopped working. It's not even in the App Store anymore (the UK one anyway).
     
  10. AndrewR23 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #10
    Is there no Cydia tweak that can bring iPad like tabs to safari?
     
  11. lyceumHQ macrumors 6502a

    lyceumHQ

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    #11
    If there is I've never found it or heard anyone mention it. I did ask in the tweak thread but got no replies.
     

Share This Page