Firefox ignores Macintosh Services?

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by VideoBeagle, Feb 17, 2015.

  1. VideoBeagle macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    App Q&A testing by request.
    #1
    I have a service (made in Automator) that does a google search of a highlighted word/phrase for a specific site in firefox.

    It works fine when I use it in text edit, Safari, most places.

    The service doesn't appear in the menu OR the context menu in Firefox.

    I wanted to confirm that this is a Firefox thing, and not a me thing...and see if anyone knows of a way to make Firefox pay attention to services.
     
  2. kryten2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    Location:
    Belgium
    #2
    Did a quick test on Mavericks and Firefox 35.0.1. It shows in the Services menu but not in the context menu.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. VideoBeagle thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    App Q&A testing by request.
    #3
    I'm on Mavericks and Firefox 35.0.1. and got nothing under either menu :(

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Florpy macrumors newbie

    Florpy

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2014
    Location:
    ABC 4
    #4
    Services in Firefox won't work unless you have something selected.

    They only added Services support a few years ago. Firefox isn't a proper Cocoa application, so they likely jammed Services support into FF in some unorthodox manner.
     
  5. VideoBeagle thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010
    Location:
    App Q&A testing by request.
    #5
    That did it! Thanks!
     
  6. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Strange. TenFourFox 31.5.0 on OS X 10.4.11 seems pretty content with services.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. ArtOfWarfare macrumors 604

    ArtOfWarfare

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #7
    So... I'll bite... Why are you using an OS released 9 years ago and last updated 7 years ago? That's somewhere between using XP and Vista in terms of age/support...

    The oldest I thought people were actually using still was Snow Leopard (as opposed to having a computer that sits in the corner that never gets used and so hasn't had its software updated in half a decade.)
     
  8. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    You obviously don't visit the PPC forums very much. I'm not exactly the only one still using old hardware and software. Some on there still use OS 9 as their main OS. Apple likes to make out that if you don't upgrade you'll be forever lost in time or something. This is not the case (for OS X at least anyway. iOS is a different story.)

    But to answer your question, I use Tiger simply because it is my favourite OS X. And because what I do on it doesn't actually require me buying a new Mac. There is simply no need. And probably never will be.
     
  9. dyt1983, Mar 3, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2015

    dyt1983 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Location:
    USA USA USA
    #9
    edit: To remove personally identifying information not relevant to the thread.
     
  10. roadbloc macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    Aha. Thanks for clearing that up for me. :)
     

Share This Page