FireFox Is DEAD!?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by John Doe 57, Feb 23, 2009.

  1. John Doe 57 macrumors 65816

    John Doe 57

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #1
    It won't load up. I hardly ever use it. I LOVE Safari and always use Safari. But today it troubled me when this internet app would not open. Do I have to do something with my preferences file?
     
  2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #2
    Well, you could try trashing ~/Library/Preferences/org.mozilla.firefox.plist. (~ is shorthand for your user home folder.)
     
  3. John Doe 57 thread starter macrumors 65816

    John Doe 57

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #3
    Will do now.
     
  4. John Doe 57 thread starter macrumors 65816

    John Doe 57

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #4
    It did not wake from the grave!

    I tried to post the Error Message but it was over the character limit by about 100,000 characters.
     
  5. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #5
    The plist will probably have been recreated, so try trashing it again along with ~/Library/Application Support/Firefox.
     
  6. John Doe 57 thread starter macrumors 65816

    John Doe 57

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #6
    We be good bro! It's all working now!

    Thanks!
     
  7. GSMiller macrumors 68000

    GSMiller

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #7
    Ugh, I used to have the same problem with FireFox on Windows all the time.
     
  8. Trajectory macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Location:
    Earth
  9. John Doe 57 thread starter macrumors 65816

    John Doe 57

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #9
    I hated it from day one!
     
  10. finnschi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #10
    Try shiretoko... Its Firefox based but FAST AS HELL!!! :eek:
     
  11. Lord Blackadder macrumors G5

    Lord Blackadder

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Location:
    Sod off
    #11
    I've been getting more crashes with Firefox 3.x.x than the earlier versions, but it's still pretty reliable.
     
  12. MattZani macrumors 68030

    MattZani

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Not a Single Crash here, been a FF User for 5 Years.
     
  13. GoKyu macrumors 65816

    GoKyu

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #13
    No crashed here either, and I regularly have 7 or more tabs at a time, all day, every day...

    Shiretoko looks good - looks to be the next version of Firefox :)
     
  14. ZNOP macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    #14
    Foxfire 2.0.0.20

    Greetings to all... I like Foxfire better than Safari because of the new tab function. I, can't stand having to open new windows while preforming the same task. Recently, I discovered that when I Hotmail I get a gohst image of the scroll bar in the center of the screen. It's anoying as hell. There is nothing wrong with my equipment so I have to assume that it has something to do with the way Foxfire is handling the web page. I'd upgrade to 3.0 but, I am using a 400Mhz PowerPC G3 w/OS X 10.3.9 and can't afford a new faster computer. Any suggestions on a better browser? Other than Safari 1.3.2 (which works even less) which I, can't upgrade either.

    Thanks.
     
  15. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  16. ZNOP macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    #16
    Unfortunately, I can't run that version. I am limited to 10.3.9
     
  17. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #17
    Maybe Shiira or Camino. Those are nice browsers.
     
  18. KingYaba macrumors 68040

    KingYaba

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Up the irons
    #18
    I recommend Camino.
     
  19. CaptMurdock macrumors 6502a

    CaptMurdock

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Location:
    The Evildrome Boozerama
    #19
    I use Flock, which is based at least partly on FF's core engine but configured different. You can even use most of FF plug-ins (e.g. DownloadHelper, TwitterFox, Smiley Xtra) in Flock.

    I did try iCab. Fast as hell, but some web pages wouldn't come up properly on it. It wouldn't do pull-down menus on some pages. :p
     

Share This Page