Firefox: Is it just me? :/

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by rmwebs, Jul 15, 2009.

1. rmwebs macrumors 68040

I've recently (when I say recently I mean in the last 4~6 months) noticed that Firefox is a lot slower than it used to be.

I run it on a C2D White 24" iMac, and a new (Got it on launch day last year) Unibody 15" MBP.

Basically, I will find that pages 'lag' when loading. Firefox will just completely lock up, and the beachball starts spinning. It lasts all of 2-3 seconds but its still not supposed to happen.

I'm a software engineer so I know the standard stuff you'd expect to do; Disabling all addons, checking activity monitor, trying a fresh install, new profile, etc.

Is it just me thats noticing these things? Had anyone else grown to the point where they are seriously considering going back to Safari (or *shudder* Camino).

I've used FF for years but since 3.0 came out I've grown an increasing hatred for it, which is not like me at all...I used to absolutely LOVE Firefox. It just seems like they are leaving us Mac'ies behind, or neglecting us :/

Anyone else experiencing issue....or am I alone? :confused:

2. LouisBlack macrumors 6502

You aren't alone. Firefox 3.0 is often complained about for being slow. Have you downloaded 3.5? That seems a lot quicker on my Windows laptop. Mozilla were advertising the speed increase quite aggressively before launch.

3. rmwebs thread starter macrumors 68040

Yeah, dowloaded 3.5 a few days ago...I've noticed a small improvement, but I still get a lot of lagging :/

4. Cromulent macrumors 603

Cromulent

Yeah, Firefox is just getting really bloated nowadays. It was a breath of fresh air to go back to Safari.

I only use Firefox for web development and testing now.

5. clevin macrumors G3

clevin

the slow down of firefox might be related to many issues, you can try clear cache and cookies, disable and re-enable addons one by one and see of any addon causes the problem.