Firefox issue- Screen keeps pausing

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by JasonMovieGuy, Feb 6, 2010.

  1. JasonMovieGuy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #1
    I have the Imac 21.5- everything is fine but this.

    When I'm running Firefox, this seems to happen:

    1) When I'm typing blogs like this, every so often there will be a pause and my typing will stop. Then it will work again. It's a 2 second delay, and happens repeatedly.

    2) When watching YouTube videos, the same thing happens. The video will be fully loaded, but as it plays there will be 2 second delays during the playback.

    Why is this happening? And when I'm running Safari, this is not an issue.
     
  2. JasonMovieGuy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #3
    What do you mean? I'm confused.
     
  3. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
  4. JasonMovieGuy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #5
    I have add-blocker, Xmarks- that's all I know of. But its causing all my browsing to have 2 second delays ever thirty seconds or so. On Safari, internet browsing is smooth.
     
  5. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #6
    If you disable either of the plugins, does the behavior persist?
     
  6. JasonMovieGuy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #7
    Will that solve the issue? Have you heard of this before on macs? I don't get why this is happening with Firefox and not Safari.
     
  7. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #8
    Firefox add-ons create issues all the time. It happens in Firefox and not Safari because Safari doesn't have plugins.

    ...

    How about you actually try it before asking more questions? Generally that's a more productive way to go about solving a problem.
     
  8. JasonMovieGuy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #9
    I don't know how to disable the xmarks- there doesn't seem to be an option. Is there any way for me to check what plug-ins I have all together, in case its something I don't realize I have?
     
  9. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #10
    In FF, Tools -> Add-Ons
     
  10. JasonMovieGuy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #11
    Thank you! I disabled the Xmarks and everything seems to be working smoothly again. Ad-Popup blocker still enabled, but the pauses have stopped. I wonder what made it pause with the Xmarks. Thanks again!
     

Share This Page