firefox keeps hanging when 15+ tabs are opened.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by benlangdon, Apr 7, 2009.

  1. benlangdon macrumors 65832

    benlangdon

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #1
    ya firefox keeps hanging whenever i open more than 15 tabs.
    i used to be able to open i dunno 100 and it would be fine, this is really annoying.

    its not like this has happened once, it has happened 11 times in the past 3 days. i really need to be able to open more than 15 tabs.
     
  2. surflordca macrumors 6502a

    surflordca

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #2
    What else do you have running? It could be not enough memory.
     
  3. SHADO macrumors 6502a

    SHADO

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Location:
    Beach
    #3
    Have you tried repairing permissions and re-installing Firefox?
     
  4. benlangdon thread starter macrumors 65832

    benlangdon

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #4
    haven't tried reinstalling firefox but ya have done permissions.
    i have transmission running but is limited to 10kb, and thats about it.

    but even in the past regardless of what i have running it worked fine, slower but fine.

    i really want this fixed, and it really does start doing weird things when 15 or more are open.
     
  5. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #5
    What have you done to modify the Mac in the last couple of days before you started to have the problem? If you create another account and open FireFox can you use more than 15 tabs?
     
  6. ikermalli macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #6
    Have you quit out, then started it up? It fixed my problem (oddly enough).

    Just wondering, what do you need 100 tabs for?
     
  7. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
  8. JustGretchen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    #8
    Yeah, i gotta know what you could possibly need 100 tabs for....

    The most I think I have ever had is maybe 20, and I'm a web designer, and do a LOT of browsing/looking for deals online/comparing products.
     
  9. benlangdon thread starter macrumors 65832

    benlangdon

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #9
    things like photo bucket.
    i go on and just open every pic in a new tab, i do a lot of this kind of stuff.
    o and tabs grow really quickly when you center mouse button is open in new tab.

    tabs <3

    EDIT:
    ya i haven't installed anything in pshhh like a month.
    that was the first thing i thought of when trouble shooting.
    then i cleared the some of the things from firefox.
    then repaired disk permissions
     
  10. robo456 macrumors 6502

    robo456

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #10
    heh, I thought this was going to be a "pr0n" thread for sure... :eek:

    --rob
     
  11. benlangdon thread starter macrumors 65832

    benlangdon

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #11
    what is the pron you speak of?

    anyway, come on this is bugging, anyone know of anything to try
     
  12. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #12
    oh i hope your kidding!!! "pr0n" (old term these days, dont use it) = "pron" (even older term) = porn! lol
     
  13. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #13
    if its urgent enough, you can always try a new profile, backup passwords first, and reinstall addons afterward.

    I assume you tried open 15-100 tabs with your safari and are sure thats a good option?
     
  14. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #14
    i constantly do 30, 40+ tabs with safari (opening one after the other), doubling that couldnt hurt haha (my poor old MBP might suffer a bit though)
     
  15. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #15
    what do you mean :confused:
     
  16. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #16
    well.. when i get up in the morning i check my MR subscription page.. there are normally a page full of them, i hold :tab: and click each link... then go thru each tab... it doesnt freeze much, very usable.
     
  17. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #17
    I think what you hold is cmd, no tab, right?

    yeah, sounds good, I guess it doesn't hurt to try it out then ;)
     
  18. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #18
    HAHAHAHAH!!!!

    yes it actually is command!! thats about the third time i have done that today, made a stupid mistake. too busy. thanks for fixing lol !
     
  19. benlangdon thread starter macrumors 65832

    benlangdon

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    #19
    ya pretty much do the same thing.
    but this is bugging.

    i don't know how to set up a new profile.
    like new profile as in osx or ....
     
  20. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #20
    do you want to test it by creating another user profile?? thats easy..

    system preferences -> accounts -> hit the "+" button.. away you go.

    if your not asking that, im sorry!
     

Share This Page