Firefox memory hog?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by tecknical, May 18, 2009.

  1. tecknical macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #1
    I'm currently using the Firefox 3.5 Beta4 version and it's a damn memory hog. It uses 600MB after a half an hour of browsing unless I restart it. Is this normal, or is there something wrong with my computer?
     
  2. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #2
    there is something wrong with ur firefox. it ormally uses much less than that.

    are u visiting heavy duty flash sites? what addons do u have?
     
  3. lucamacis macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #3
    My Firefox 3 is using 160mb and its been on all day.

    Maybe because it's a beta that its a memory hog?
     
  4. tecknical thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #4
    im actually using a couple of add-ons.

    Autopager
    ubiquity
    weave
    xmarks
    download statusbar
    stumble upon
    1Password
    Brief
    Adblock Plus
     
  5. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #5
    Firefox uses alot of memory on my system too!
    I always have 10+ tabs open tho:
    Code:
    PID COMMAND      %CPU   TIME   #TH #PRTS #MREGS RPRVT  RSHRD  RSIZE  VSIZE
    3793 firefox-bi  26.8% 12:33:22  47  1488   3286  905M+   84M   973M+ 1582M 
    
    At the moment it uses approx 970MB real memory and 1580MB VM

    edit: it's the non-beta 3.0.10, adblock, a PDF viewer and downloadmanager is the only addons i have
     
  6. nick9191 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
  7. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #7
    It's definitely something fishy about Firefox memory handling, now 15 minutes later FF3.0.10 is using 1023MB ram and 2190MB VM .
     
  8. Aronnax macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #8
  9. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #9
    if you call firefox's memory management as notorious, then i guess you will have to use disastrous for others.
     
  10. tecknical thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #10
    out of all the browsers i use firefox seems to take up the most ram after a couple of hours.
     
  11. clevin macrumors G3

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    #11
    Like I replied previously, I was stating the "generalized" normal situation, for your case, there is something wrong with your firefox, I suggest you create a new profile.
     

Share This Page