Firefox open link in new tab

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by angemon89, Oct 30, 2008.

  1. angemon89 macrumors 68000

    angemon89

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    The place where Apple designs stuff
    #1
    Is there a way I can achieve this without having to do a right click on my MacBook? I know that if I hold the shift key while clicking on a link it will open the link in a new window. Is there a way I can change this to open in a new tab instead? Maybe something in the about:config settings?
     
  2. soberbrain macrumors 65816

    soberbrain

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #2
    There should be an option to always open links in tabs in Firefox Preferences/Options > Tabs.

    Also, I think you can do this by holding down Option and then left clicking.
     
  3. kornyboy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN (USA)
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5F136 Safari/525.20)

    In the preferences there should be a tab for "Tabs." Once that is open you should see an item that says something to the affect of " New pages should open in:" Make the appropriate selection and you should be good.
     
  4. angemon89 thread starter macrumors 68000

    angemon89

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    The place where Apple designs stuff
    #4
    The thing is I do have it set to open new pages in new tabs. But when I shift+click on a link it opens in a new window.

    Option+click just downloads the link.
     
  5. Saunderzs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    #5
    On my Macbook it's Command + Left Click to open a link in a new tab.
     
  6. soberbrain macrumors 65816

    soberbrain

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #6
    You're right. I meant to say Command.
     
  7. angemon89 thread starter macrumors 68000

    angemon89

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    The place where Apple designs stuff
    #7
    Oh, haha. I feel dumb now. I don't know why I didn't try command. Thanks
     

Share This Page