Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Klaas Vaak

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 23, 2019
Hi,
I am new to the Apple world and bought a MacBook Air 2019 last Saturday. I have installed Firefox, and copied/pasted my FF profile folder and .ini file over from Linux Mint into Mojave. I did this without a hitch when I migrated from Windows to Linux. This time, however, FF refuses to take it, recreating a new Profiles folder and .ini file.

Is there a way to do this so I don't have to set up FF from scratch?

Last edited:

Brian33

macrumors 65816
Apr 30, 2008
USA (Virginia)
I'm just guessing, but I notice in my ~/Library/Application Support/Firefox I have two .ini files: profiles.ini and installs.ini. Maybe you need both of them??

Klaas Vaak

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 23, 2019
I'm just guessing, but I notice in my ~/Library/Application Support/Firefox I have two .ini files: profiles.ini and installs.ini. Maybe you need both of them??
Brian, thanks for replying. I have those 2 files too. In the installs.ini file there are 2 default profiles defined: the one I copied to the FF folder, and the other was newly created by FF.
But having those 2 files has not made any difference; in fact, why does it need the installs.ini file after FF has been installed?

adrianlondon

macrumors 603
Nov 28, 2013
Switzerland
I quit FF and deleted installs.ini then tidied up my profiles.ini file just now for a test.

I re-opened FF and it worked fine, and recreated installs.ini. This is kept/created in case you play with different versions of FF at the same time, I believe.

Can you select your copied profile in about: profiles?

Klaas Vaak

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 23, 2019
I quit FF and deleted installs.ini then tidied up my profiles.ini file just now for a test.