Firefox Since Lion

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Washac, Jul 24, 2011.

  1. Washac macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #1
    Hello


    Since the advent of Lion there are web pages that are not displaying correctly in Firefox, tried downgrading Firefox and the problems remain, which to me points towards Lion being the problem.

    I know I can Safari but that has its own issues at the moment.

    Is anybody else getting webpage display issues in Firefox since Lion ?
     
  2. mrapplegate macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #2
    Perhaps you can post a screen shot of the sites you were having issues with. I don't see a problem with Firefox rendering sites, but I can't compare to what sites you visit.
     
  3. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #3
    Hello

    Try this one

    http://tip.it/runescape/

    The whole page should be displayed in the colours of the top left logo, what do you see.
     
  4. mrapplegate macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #4
    First using Firefox 5.01
    Second shot is with Safari, with Flash blocked.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #5
    Hello

    This is what I get in Firefox 5.0.1
     

    Attached Files:

  6. mrapplegate macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #6
    Which version of Firefox? I don't think it is a Lion problem.
    I do see your issue. Does this happen to all web sites?
     
  7. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #7
    Hello

    Firefox 5.0.1

    Not all sites, some sites just have graphics missing, but found another today with similar issues to one shown.
     
  8. mrapplegate macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #8
    I have seen this issue before. When it happened I just hit Refresh and the page loaded. It was on SL, I have not see it yet in Lion. I suspected my internet connection was briefly interrupted.
    Does a page refresh load the site or does it do this every time?
    Check Firefox's Error console from the Tools menu and see if you see errors.
     
  9. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #9
    Hello

    Yes you are correct normally a refresh does correct these issues but in this case it does not it stays the same all time.
     
  10. mrapplegate macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #10
    Clear the cache, Tools menu, Clean Recent History, and see if that fixes it.
     
  11. Macsaurus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    #11
    Are images enabled? In the menubar click on Firefox, then Preferences (or ⌘,), then click on Content, and make sure images are enabled.

    Don't go below Firefox 5.0.1 on Lion, as it crashes on 5.0 and below due to different font locations in Lion (there might of been a 3.6 update, but I'm not sure).
     
  12. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #12
    Hello

    This is what I get in the error console from that site.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. mrapplegate macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #13
    Looks like Facebook and Twitter errors, not seeing anything that would not render the page correctly. No CSS errors. Well, a couple but from Facebook CDN not the actual site. I'm not sure. Perhaps the CSS errors are causing the issue. I'm not a CSS expert by any means.
     
  14. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #14
    Hello

    Images enabled OK, problem resolved see next post :)
     
  15. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #15
    Hello

    Did all that, now all OK, thank you very much, would not have thought of doing that :):):):)
     
  16. mrapplegate macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #16
    Glad to hear it was not a Lion issue. Poor Lion has been taking a beating lately. It is not bad for $30 :D
     
  17. Washac thread starter macrumors 68020

    Washac

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    #17
    Hello

    Yes it taken a beating, I did some beating of it myself, but now things are starting to sort themselves out.

    Thank you again :)
     
  18. Sjamies macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    #18
    I'm also having major issues with Firefox since the Lion release. Major problems with CSS styling, Flash, javascript and others. Even Hotmail doesn't work properly.

    I've got the latest version of Firefox, all software updates are done, but still major issues. I can only assume it to be Lion, and that updates will follow soon (hopefully). In the meantime, it's back to Safari.
     
  19. silexh macrumors member

    silexh

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #19
    I've had zero problems with the Firefox beta and Lion. It's also quite stable (in my experience).

    Might be worth a try.
     

Share This Page