Firefox stopped working completely

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by mikebatho, Nov 10, 2010.

  1. mikebatho macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    Greater Manchester UK
    #1
    Aa above, Firefox has stopped loading pages. Any pages.

    All I get is a white box with 'Search Bookmarks & History' in the search box. (see pic)

    I deleted everything FF related from my drive, as well as the app & started from scratch. Downloaded a fresh version from their website, installed, and still nothing. Tried the obvious & rebooted - nothing.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    I'll just ask this since you didn't state it explicitly... you have tried to load pages in other browsers, right?
     
  3. mikebatho thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    Greater Manchester UK
    #3
    Yep. I'm using Safari right now. I mean, seeing as I do have Safari, it's not the end of the world, but I prefer FF
     
  4. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #4
    Looks like it's simply loaded as a blank page. Have you tried entering a web site in the location bar or accessing a bookmark that you may have imported?
     
  5. mikebatho thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    Greater Manchester UK
    #5
    Yep. When I said any page, I meant it. Tried everything.
     
  6. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #6
    Check the Console app (/Applications/Utilities/) when starting Firefox and loading a page. It may provide some error messages or hints. Firefox also has a safe mode than you can try.
     
  7. Gregg2 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #7
    Wow! You're fast! ;)

    Try logging in under a different user account and see if FF behaves.
     
  8. CylonGlitch macrumors 68030

    CylonGlitch

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #8
  9. mikebatho thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Location:
    Greater Manchester UK
    #9
    Got it.

    There was nothing in console, but I logged out, accessed it from the shared user on my mac, it worked, then logged back in & it worked in my user mode.

    Problem solved. It seems to have lost all my passes, auto fill stuff etc, but it's working again.

    Thankd for your help guys.
     

Share This Page