Firefox the only browser that works?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by massappeal, Jan 12, 2009.

  1. massappeal macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    #1
    I'm having a really strange problem...

    Since maybe a couple weeks ago Firefox is the only browser that works for me. Other browsers can't seem to connect to ANY website. I've tried Safari and Opera... they don't work.

    I have:

    tried several different wifi signals
    reinstalled Safari, Opera, and Firefox
    reinstalled OS X (archive and install)
    repaired disk permissions

    No matter what I do, Firefox is the only thing that works

    also... Software Update and a few other apps (i.e. iScrobbler) can't connect either so I can't update OSX after the archive and install
     
  2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #2
    Try opening Terminal and typing

    ping google.com

    You should see something like this:

    Last login: Mon Jan 12 23:03:47 on console
    Versailles:~ bluerevolution$ ping google.com
    PING google.com (72.14.205.100): 56 data bytes
    64 bytes from 72.14.205.100: icmp_seq=0 ttl=243 time=97.597 ms
    64 bytes from 72.14.205.100: icmp_seq=1 ttl=243 time=80.089 ms
    64 bytes from 72.14.205.100: icmp_seq=2 ttl=243 time=99.148 ms
    64 bytes from 72.14.205.100: icmp_seq=3 ttl=243 time=87.577 ms
    64 bytes from 72.14.205.100: icmp_seq=4 ttl=243 time=85.899 ms


    The "64 bytes" lines will continue to repeat every second or so; just let a few of them come back and then stop the process by pressing control+C. If they don't appear at all or if you get a DNS error, something isn't right.
     
  3. neonblue2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Location:
    Port Pirie, South Australia
    #3
    You don't have a proxy selected anywhere, do you? A great feature of Firefox is that it can find its way to or around a proxy if necessary.
     
  4. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #4
    You mean has an auto-detect function.
    But, good idea to do a search!
     

Share This Page