FirePro W7000 in 5,1 works, but . . . Fit?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Naimfan, Jun 14, 2018.

  1. Naimfan macrumors 601

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #1
    All -

    Not that there was any doubt, but a FirePro W7000 does work in a 5,1 MP. (Running 10.12.6; it shows up as Radeon HD 7xxx)

    Only problem is fit - with the bottom plate on, it simply does not fit. And rather than hacksaw part of it, I removed the bottom plate - 9 screws - and now am concerned that it may overheat - it appears that the bottom plate is a heatsink. It's installed in the second PCI slot, with nothing above or below it, and I've set MacsFanControl to run the PCI fan based on ambient temperature to provide more airflow to cool it.

    Any issues anyone can see? Should I just cut off the tail end of the bottom plate/heatsink?

    Thoughts appreciated!
     
  2. MisterAndrew macrumors 6502a

    MisterAndrew

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #2
    I don’t think you need to be concerned about that. Isn’t it just a rackmount bracket? Not all of them have that.
     
  3. kohlson macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
  4. MisterAndrew macrumors 6502a

    MisterAndrew

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #4
    Has anyone tried making & flashing an EFI rom to the W7000? Looks like the same chip as 7850 & 7870? However, I read flashing a 7850 reduces it to 1 working DisplayPort.

    http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,5619.0.html
    --- Post Merged, Jun 14, 2018 ---
    It looks like a W9000 would work also. The 6780 device ID is in the driver.
     
  5. h9826790, Jun 14, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2018

    h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    Most backplate can only degrade cooling, not improving.

    The backplate should be there to ensure the card's strength. For cMP, that's totally redundant if you install the card in slot 1. In fact, as MisterAndrew pointed out, for W7000, that's not a backplate at all.

    You better install the card in slot 1 (for cooling purpose). Hot air rise, the higher slot you use, the more warm air the card breath in. For blower type card, this effect shouldn't be too significant, but in my own test, GPU can get best cooling in slot 1.

    Also, you better base on PCIe ambient temperature to spin up the PCIs fan, but not ambient temperature. The GPU may warm up the whole PCIe compartment quite a bit, but the ambient temperature only go up a little bit.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 14, 2018 ---
    AFAIK, you can. I am quite sure I've seen someone reported that he flashed the W7000 (may be in this forum, may be in Netkas forum, I really can't remember). But I didn't pay attention on how many display port still work after flash. The Framebuffer is guarantee wrong, IMO, not a good idea to flash this card.
     
  6. eksu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    #6
    h9826790 beat me to the punch, here's the forum about the flashed W7000 from netkas. it works well with one monitor. forum.netkas.org/index.php?topic=13642.0

    If I get a Xserve3,1 I'll end up throwing a s7000 in it for Mojave. I'd be interested in using a w7000 if I went to a multigpu setup with passthrough or something, but not right now.
     
  7. kwikdeth macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    #7
    is it the one with the great big metal bracket sticking out, for PCI bracket retainer?

    [​IMG]

    i cant be sure about the W7000, but the 5870 I used on my machine had a similar back plate on it, and without it, the top part of the heatsink with the fan wasnt seating properly so I had temperature problems.

    eventually, what I ended up doing was removing the back bracket, taking it into my garage, and using a dremel to cut off the bracket part. re-assembled it and didnt have any temperature problems after that. I dont think its a matter of the GPU itself overheating but the bracket plate does act as a heatsink for the VRM and GDDR RAM. by removing the retainer part of the plate, I was able to put it back and ensure the top part of the heatsink was making full contact.
     
  8. Naimfan thread starter macrumors 601

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #8
    h9826790 - Thanks - I'll move to slot one tomorrow and see how it does. I've also changed the fan settings per your suggestion.

    Re fan noise - I'll try it tomorrow with the fans back to factory settings and report back.

    @kwikdeth - Yes, the W7000 is the one with a great big metal bracket - it's just a bit too long to fit in a MP. The fan seems OK, but removing the bracket/bottom plate reveals what I think are 8 VRAM chips (they're all SKHynix), and the plate has what looks like rectangles of insulating material (looks like foam tape) that go over the chips. I'd rather not have to cut the bracket - would make it harder to sell on if needed - but will if it seems to make much difference. It's a machine that's just for fun - a 2.4 GHz 8 core from 2010.
     
  9. DearthnVader macrumors 6502

    DearthnVader

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Location:
    Red Springs, NC
    #9
    We could likely mod the rom to fix the port mappings.
     
  10. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #10
    It’s possible but how. No one figured out how to mod the EFI framebuffer yet.
     
  11. DearthnVader macrumors 6502

    DearthnVader

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Location:
    Red Springs, NC
    #11
    Yet.
     
  12. Naimfan thread starter macrumors 601

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #12
    Following up -

    I've moved it to slot 1, and anecdotally at least, so far the temperatures appear to be lower - the fans are running slower than they were yesterday (settings changed per your suggestion; so same conditions).

    I'll keep an eye on it, but so far it seems a solid upgrade over the stock 5770.
     
  13. 1madman1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Location:
    Richmond, BC, Canada
    #13
    I was running a W7000 in a Mac Pro for several months with the rear plate removed - had no issues.

    The attempts I made at flashing the card killed ALL the Displayport outputs on OSX.
     
  14. Naimfan thread starter macrumors 601

    Naimfan

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    #14
    Thank you for that! Makes me feel better long-term.

    MP will soon be a 12 core 3.33, with X5680s.
     

Share This Page