Firewatch minimum specs

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by t0mat0, Feb 9, 2016.

  1. t0mat0 macrumors 603

    t0mat0

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Home
    #1
    got a 2009 MBP and really want to play - happy to turn down the settings. Anyone got the game?
     
  2. Alrescha, Feb 9, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2016

    Alrescha macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #2
    Numerous posts from the developers on Steam indicate that they do not force a minimum set of specifications - if you do not have their recommended minimum the game will still run. It may not run well but they will not lock you out either.

    It is an OpenGL game built on the Unity engine. If you have any other games like that already then you have an idea how things will go (or not go). :)

    A.
     
  3. monokitty macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    #3

    • MINIMUM:
      • OS: Mac OS X 10.8+
      • Processor: 2011 or newer Intel Core i5
      • Memory: 6 GB RAM
      • Graphics: Nvidia or ATi GPU with 1GB Memory
      • Storage: 4 GB available space
      • Additional Notes: Dedicated graphics card required. No Mac Mini model is officially supported at this time.
     
  4. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #4
    Any Unity engine game I had ran like garbage on my 2011 MBP with the Radeon 6770M GPU, even at 720p. Your 2009 model won't stand a chance.
     
  5. pdxrevolution macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    Just FYI - I have a 2015 MacBook Air (2.2 Ghz i7 + 8 GB RAM). It's got the Intel HD 6000 card. I installed FireWatch both in Mac OS X 10.11 and in Bootcamp (Windows 10). It will run in both, but the frame rate is significantly better in Windows. It's passable there, but I doubt I'm getting more than 5-7 fps in OS X. The app crashed in OS X until I restarted my Mac. It might have been because I had a 1920x1080 monitor hooked up originally, but even after I disconnected it, the game crashed. A restart solved it.

    So, I've got the most powerful MacBook Air you can have, and it's only passable if you want to run it in Windows.
     
  6. t0mat0 thread starter macrumors 603

    t0mat0

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Home
    #6
    Bought it anyway - turned off all the visual settings and put it down to 720ish.

    Wasn't all bad truth be told - not a great frame rate but I bought for the story and can enjoy the visuals on a replay.
    One run through so far - wonder if tactical saves can help see different dialogue.
     
  7. Alrescha macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #7
    I'm on my second run-through now. I find it pretty bright, graphics-wise. Am trying at 25%. Is good fun.

    A.
     
  8. fuchsdh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #8
    Well my Mac Pro ran it fine as soon as I turned off autosaving, it only chugged when hitting loading areas. Shame I couldn't get it to run higher than 1080p; it just started up as a black screen when I tried to run it on my 4K monitor.

    As for the game itself, I had mixed feelings.
     

Share This Page