Firewire 400 is GONE...what do you think?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Stang68, Oct 14, 2008.

?

How do you feel about the loss of Firewire 400?

  1. I need it for video capturing!

    29 vote(s)
    40.3%
  2. That's fine, I just need to buy more cables now!

    22 vote(s)
    30.6%
  3. Looks like I'm "Daisy Chaining".

    15 vote(s)
    20.8%
  4. I never used it.

    19 vote(s)
    26.4%
  1. Stang68 macrumors 6502a

    Stang68

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Location:
    USA
  2. Firanide macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Location:
    Canadia
    #2
    It would have been nice if they had another FW800 port or a FW3200. Technically, you do have 2xFW400 though, provided you got an adaptor.
     
  3. WilliamG macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #3
    Yep, makes no difference. FW800 is backward compatible, and if you have more than one device, you just daisy-chain. Simple. Simplification.
     
  4. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    I'd prefer they replace a USB port with a 2nd FW800. I use FW800 for external hard drives. Screamin' fast!
     
  5. Firanide macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Location:
    Canadia
    #5
    It's just too bad that the old MBPs had space for 3xFW400. :(
     
  6. Coldwater macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #6
    I never had an opportunity to use FW 400 (or 800 for that matter), but I guess I would have missed it if I did because USB2 can be glacially slow at times.
     
  7. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #7
    What? What you mean it's gone? Didn't you know you can have a FW800 → FW400 Cable and still use the FW800 element? Just means you'll need to invest in more cables.
     
  8. Michael CM1 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #8
    Now that I have a HDD-based camcorder, I personally have zero need for firewire. Therefore, I could even do without any FW ports. I just looked at the photos of the sides and wonder why they couldn't put two more USB ports on the optical drive side.
     
  9. krye macrumors 68000

    krye

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    I know tons of Mac users, and to tell you the truth, not that many people use FW. You only hear about the few that complain about it being taken away. The vast majority if users go with USB because no matter what it is, USB is always cheaper and the speed boost you gain from FW400 vs, USB usually isn't worth the extra price paid.

    As far as FW800 goes, then that is a different story. No one on a MacBook had that anyway. For that, you'd use a MacBook Pro or a Mac Pro.
     
  10. marvel2 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #10
    I never used it. Well, only to transfer files from an previous mac. It wont be missed.
     
  11. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #11
    FW400 was largly used for transferring video from DVcams but newer cams have adopted the faster FW800 standard due to HD thus FW400 get's the boot - anyway... not sure what's with all the fuss.. FW800 sockets can support everything on the FW400 system, plus a whole lot more!
     
  12. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #12
    It'll just end up like USB and all the cable variations they have with the different ends/sockets.

    Just need to have 1 800/400 cable laying around.
     
  13. Chaos123x macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    #13
    You can't daisy chain your camera and hard drive, your just asking for dropped frames.
     
  14. thedarkhorse macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #14
    daisy chaining still requires having a firewire port on the laptop so the plain macbook is still hooped.
    A quick google search found this:
    It's an ethernet->firewire adaptor, I never heard of such a thing before I looked for it today, hopefully something like this will work on the macbook or capturing minidv content is off the table with the macbook air.

    http://www.buy.com/retail/product.a...52397&Type=PE&Category=Comp&Gad=0&dcaid=15891


    EDIT: nevermind, the adaptor is apparently a network cable tester, not an actual ethernet->firewire conversion.

    *dream smashed*
     
  15. bloodycape macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #15
    wait so if I have a external that uses firewire400 does that mean if I get the new mbp that I can use the fw400 cable into the fw800 port if it is backwards compatible?
     
  16. KingYaba macrumors 68040

    KingYaba

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Up the irons
  17. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #17
    oh well, firewire 400 and 800 never worked at the same time on my notebook anyway
     
  18. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #18
    I don't get the choices in this poll. Firewire is entirely gone from the new MacBook -- I thought that was the significant departure from the past.

    The loss of Target Disk Mode on these new MacBooks is the biggest issue I can see. That's really unfortunate -- it can be such a life-saver.
     
  19. MarkW19 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    #19
    I've got a Lacie external HD which has FW400 (inc. daisy chain port), FW800 and USB 2...I'm guessing I can't plug a firewire device into the lacie, then connect the lacie by USB 2 to one of the new macbooks?
     
  20. Stang68 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Stang68

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #20
    Sorry, I didn't specify it...this was for the MBP only.

    Yes, I knew. That is why its an option in the poll :rolleyes:.

    Apple could have at least given us two FW800 ports, right? This is a PRO MACHINE! Give us all we are gonna need. I want to be able to capture video and save it to my FW800 external at the same time!
     
  21. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #21
    I don't really use the FW400 socket all that much, I actually run out of FW800 ports, which is rather annoying. Though, IF you folks really need more FW ports, why not invest in an ExpressCard FW400/800 card? Then you needn't worry about daisy chaining, dropped frames or what have you.. and you can even get a FW800 Hub!

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    http://www.lacie.com/jpen/products/product.htm?id=10296

    Problem solved...
    Jesus, what if you had brains?
     
  22. Stang68 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Stang68

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #22
    Jeeeeez...sorry Mr. High and Mighty. We all aren't experts about Firewire. You don't have to be such an *******.

    I'm pissed at this guy, but I'm happy he gave us some info. He just HAD to add in that last line? :rolleyes:
     
  23. drewsof07 macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #23
    Amen, I have a third gen that only charges with firewire :( and honestly, FW800 periphs are a little expensive for my blood. The cheapest FW800 external enclosure I could find was $70, you can buy USB externals with a HD for that much!
     
  24. Chaos123x macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    #24
    The express card option is the best way to split the Bus, but allot of people use there express card slot for things at the same time.


    3G Card? XD CAM Memory Cards....
     
  25. Stang68 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Stang68

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #25
    Yeah, this is true. But I guess it is the best option, right? Or could you purchase a FW hub?
     

Share This Page