Firewire 800 or 400?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Gamble, Jun 29, 2009.

  1. Gamble macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    #1
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    Not necessarily - FW800 is backward-compatible with FW400, but using a 400 device slows down all 800 devices daisy-chained to it on the same bus. You do, however, need an adapter or 800-to-400 cable to use 400 devices with an 800 port.
     
  3. catachip macrumors regular

    catachip

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    Vancouver, British Columbia
    #4
  4. Gamble thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    #5
    I don't think i do, and i tried looking too but couldn't see whether it did. Reckon its worth me ordering one just incase?
     
  5. Makosuke macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #6
    Depends on how much of a hurry you're in. Waste of money if you don't mind waiting for a second order or buying one locally if it doesn't come with a cable, waste of time if you want to use it as soon as it arrives.

    For reference, assuming it doesn't come with a FW400 cable (which wouldn't be particularly surprising, though it might well), you'd have been better off just getting a FW800-FW400 cable and bypassing that adapter entirely. For example:

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Firewire-IEEE1394B-800-Cable-Lead/dp/B001IUM9R8/ref=pd_cp_ce_2
     
  6. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #7
    This is simply not true. With the USB bus this was the case but with Firewire's bilingual mode both 400 and 800 devices that are on the same bus operate at their optimal speeds.

    To the OP you don't need a Firewire 800 soundcard, nor do I know of any, but if you have one of the newer Macs with only a Firewire 800 port you will, as mentioned, need a Firewire 800 -> 400 adapter. Prior generation Macs (like my mid-2007) had both a Firewire 400 and 800 port. The Firewave will work fine for you.
     
  7. gilbert1020 macrumors regular

    gilbert1020

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Location:
    California
  8. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #9
    Something tells me you read no further than the title thread. :p

    The question was not whether Firewire 800 is faster than 400, which is fairly obvious. The OP asked if he would be able to use Firewire 400 devices connected to the Firewire 800 port or whether he would require a Firewire 800 device. He can absolutely use 400 devices by using an 800>400 adapter.
     

Share This Page