Firewire 800 - Same as 400 just better?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by PurpleCliff, Mar 3, 2009.

  1. PurpleCliff macrumors regular

    PurpleCliff

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    I like to plug my digital camcorder into computer through a firewire 400 cord - will this work on firewire 800? If not what can I do?! :confused:
     
  2. NT1440 macrumors G4

    NT1440

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Location:
    Hartford, CT
  3. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #3
    For a video camera with a FW400 4 pin connector, you can use a FW800 to FW400 adapter like this one with your existing cables.

    For devices with a FW400 6 pin connector, you can use a FW800 to FW400 cable for $5-10, or an adapter like the one above.
     
  4. Zyniker macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #4
    +1
     
  5. andrewdale macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #5
    And, in response to the thread title -- FW800 is not just the same, it's twice as good. :)

    Very noticeable speed difference over both USB2.0 and FW400.
     
  6. NT1440 macrumors G4

    NT1440

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Location:
    Hartford, CT
    #6
    Not for him with a 400 device tho.
     
  7. bluesrules macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    #7
    I have RAID disks which I connect with FW400 to my MacBook Pro. I want by a Mac Mini but it only has FW800, would the cable you mention work as interface?
     
  8. PurpleCliff thread starter macrumors regular

    PurpleCliff

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #8
    Thanks all, I'll look for a 400 to 800 thingo at my local Dicksmith! :)
     
  9. andrewdale macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #9
    Well, yes. I'm just referring to overall. :)
     
  10. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #10
    I use one of these cables to connect my MBP FW800 port to an external FW400 enclosure. I've also tried it in reverse, connecting an external FW800 enclosure to my MBP FW400 port.

    Both ways work okay with my setup, so I would assume yes it would work with yours. YMMV.
     
  11. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #11
    Same as 400, but twice as fast :D

    And yes the adapter aforementioned should work fine.
     
  12. OttawaGuy macrumors 6502a

    OttawaGuy

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    #12
    Dicksmith?
     
  13. Migsy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #13
    Bear in mind that when you plug a FW400 device into a FW800 bus, the FW800 bus slows down to 400 mode. This will affect all devices on the same bus.
     
  14. PurpleCliff thread starter macrumors regular

    PurpleCliff

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #14
    Err - it's an electronics shop in Australia. :D
     
  15. PurpleCliff thread starter macrumors regular

    PurpleCliff

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #15
    The FW800 permanently becomes FW400 speed? :eek:
     
  16. Migsy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #16
    Only during the time a FW400 device is plugged in.
     
  17. JesterJJZ macrumors 68020

    JesterJJZ

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #17
    Which means firewire800 will be nonexistent for Protools and DV/DVCPRO editing users.
     
  18. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #18
    Forget about adapters. They are a PITA to keep up with. Go to monoprice.com and buy a cheap FW800 to 400 cable like THIS ONE.
     
  19. Le Big Mac macrumors 68020

    Le Big Mac

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #19
    Is this true even with FW 400 at end of the chain?

    I.e. Mac-->FW800 HD-->FW800 HD-->FW400 device.
     

Share This Page