Firewire Cable... How many pins?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by idesign245, Nov 23, 2007.

  1. idesign245 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #1
    So I just bought a 24" iMac today and I don't have a firewire cable to connect it to my Macbook to use Migration Assistant.

    What I'm wondering is how many pins does the iMac have and how many pins does the Macbook have? I don't see it listed on the tech pages, just that its a firewire 800.

    Would I need the 4 pin to 4 pin firewire cable or the 4 pin to 6 pin cable? Or neither?!

    Thanks!
     
  2. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
  3. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
  4. Leon Kowalski macrumors 6502a

    Leon Kowalski

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    Gondwanaland Reunification Front HQ
    #5
    Don't know 'bout MacBook, but the 24" iMac has one 6-pin FW400 connector
    and one 9-pin FW800 connector.

    http://www.apple.com/imac/technology/

    You can connect a FW400 device to either with the appropriate adaptor cable
    available from:

    http://newegg.com
    http://monoprice.com

    LK
     
  5. idesign245 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #6
    I'm trying to transfer stuff from my old macbook to my new Aluminum iMac. When I try using Migration Assistant, I get to the point where it tells me to reboot the macbook and hold down "T", which I do, and the macbook restarts and shows the firewire icon on the screen.

    On the migration assistant window, it says "waiting for your old mac to restart" but won't do anything else, even though the old mac has restarted.

    The macbook icon doesn't show up on the iMacs desktop.
    I tried zapping the pram on the macbook, a recommendation on the apple support website but it didn't make a difference. The iMac is running Leopard and the Macbook is running Tiger, both units software is up to date.

    Any ideas?
     
  6. idesign245 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #8
    Thats what I'm wondering... I got the cheapest one I could :p It was $5 at future shop, I posted the link above. It is a 6-6pin but it doesn't fit very snugly in the slot.
     

Share This Page