Firewire interface Help!

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by lacassius, Jan 13, 2009.

1. lacassius macrumors member

Hi...I need help choosing a firewire interface. it is for recording tracks on a 2.1 ghz 4gb ddr2 5400 rpm hd. Ive only ever used usb interfaces but heard firewire was better for latency and audio quality.

currently im stuck between the digidesign MBox 2 pro and the apogee duet. so my question is this.

If both interfaces costed exactly the same and didnt come with any other software which one would be better as far as audio quality? i only need 1 mic port, monitor port and headphone port so inputs are of no consiquence to me. I would like to know purely for the audio recording and playback quality.

also if you have any other good interfaces in there price range feel free to throw them in. i have no experience with firewire at all so any suggestions are appreciated.

2. zimv20 macrumors 601

zimv20

quality-wise, i reckon the apogee would be better. BUT the sole determining factor here should be the software you're running.

if it's PT, get the digi product. otherwise, get the apogee.

3. lacassius thread starter macrumors member

really im not to concerned about the software. i can get pt le for basically free. to me the prices are the same im just wonderin which is better for quality sound. ive heard good things about apogee ive even heard its pt compatible but i doubt it
    it doesnt matter which daw i use as long as it comes out good. im not bound by the industries pt standard. ill use garageband if need be.

i only record tracks for a handful of local artists and even garageband would be a step up from the set up i had so....

4. marioman38 macrumors 6502a

marioman38

Seriously, check out the Presonus Firebox. The pro's use it (Three Doors Down, P.O.D.) and its a great value vs. the Apogee. Read the reviews, you won't be disappointed.

I can totally vouch B&H one of THE BEST on-line retailers. IDK about the other.