Firewire issue

Discussion in 'iMac' started by muflyer, Dec 3, 2007.

  1. muflyer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    #1
    After a recent power outage, I went to access some video on a camera through a Firewire port and iMovie indicates "No camera attached". I checked and my iMac also recognize my external HD which connects through the other Firewire port. I ran diagnostic and it identifies Firewire up to 400mbs, but won't access the drive or camera. I have tried unplugging everything and reconnecting upon rebooting, but that didn't change the situation. Does anyone have any ideas or suggestions? Thanks!
     
  2. synth3tik macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #2
    Sounds like that one FW port has been fried. Was there anything connected to it at the time, does iMovie recognize the camera when plugged into the other port?
     
  3. muflyer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    #3
    Unfortunately, no. Neither port seems to recognize either device.
     
  4. synth3tik macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #4
    Oh, ok. Your original post made is sound like you got the drive to work. It would make more sense for neither of them to work then just one. Seems like the power bump may have hit your logic board. The power supply should have caught this and tripped, but it has been known to happen.

    Another thing is that it may be the camera and the drive that are bad. If they were plugged in at the time. A year or so ago I had a power surge through my cable line. Fired the modem and router. The computer was left unharmed, but my external hard drives and DVD drive were fired.
     
  5. muflyer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    #5
    Not encouraging, but I appreciate the 411. Thanks.
     
  6. synth3tik macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #6
    Sorry to be so bleak, but then again this is based off what I experienced, you may not have the same issues... Can always look at the brighter side.:)
     
  7. nissan.gtp macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #7
    I had a similar problem.

    Try resetting the SMU. Shutdown, unplug all the cables, give it 30 seconds or so, hook eveything back up and reboot.

    link to apple support article

    good luck
     

Share This Page