Firewire issues on new MPB

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Pauli440, Mar 26, 2009.

  1. Pauli440 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #1
    Hi Everyone,

    I've had this new MBP for just over two weeks now after my early 2008 MBP was stolen.
    My primary use for this machine besides the usual Web, Email and document creation is Music Production.

    I use an RME FireFace 400 as my audio interface and had no issues with my previous mac - however after finally getting my hands on a FW 800-400 cable from belkin I thought there would be no issues. Alas this is not the case. All latest drivers are installed however when audio is sent to the FF400 it continually resets causing only tiny snippets of sound to come out (every 4 seconds approx)

    After speaking with the Australian importer and authority on the RME FF400 this was the conclusion that was presented to me by him and RME germany.

    "The recent firewire audio interface issues on the new iMac are now a problem on the new MBPs.
    According to RME this is due to the Agere fw chip used on those machines which causes a firewire bus reset when starting playback in isochronous mode. The problem also manifests on Motu and other devices."

    I am told (by the RME importer) this is not a problem that any software/firmware update can fix as the problem is inherent in the Chipset itself.

    Lucent (Agere) = No work with many major music peripherals
    Texas Instruments = Smooth sailing

    Check your chipset before you purchase by pressing CMD+S on boot-up

    Hope there may be a solution for this without having to buy other hardware to offset this problem.
     
  2. MasterNile macrumors 65816

    MasterNile

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    #2
    This is mentioned many times on the "Steve Jobs on lack of firewire" thread. The Agere chipset has many problems with audio devices and for most are unusable with it meaning Apple practically removed all firewire from their notebooks, and don't bother with an Expresscard FW adapter as that won't work any better.
     
  3. Pauli440 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    #3
    soz, didn't see the other posts....
    I am told that a firewire repeater cable may fix the issue (apple have also requested that I try using a firewire hub) ....
     
  4. longfoot macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #4
    hi pauli
    did you fix your interface problem-if so, How?
    thanks
     
  5. Timur macrumors 6502a

    Timur

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #5
    The easiest solution is to use one of these:

    http://www.lindy.de/ieee1394a-firewire-repeater-kabel/32908.html

    [​IMG]

    Or get a Firewire hub or a Firewire harddrive and put it in between the Mac and the Fireface.

    A better solution would be for Apple to use the new rev. 7 LSI/Agere chipset which according to RME solves the issues. But don't count on that.
     
  6. tbox macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    #6
    same issue over here THIS IS RIDICULOUS!

    My MBP
    Hardware Overview:
    Model Name: MacBook Pro
    Model Identifier: MacBookPro5,1
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2.8 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 2
    L2 Cache: 6 MB
    Memory: 4 GB
    Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz
    Boot ROM Version: MBP51.0074.B01
    SMC Version (system): 1.33f8
    Serial Number (system): W88521651GN

    FIREWIRE info:
    090528 10:47:10 AM kernel FireWire (OHCI) Lucent ID 5901 built-in now active, GUID 0023dffffe832bec; max speed s800.

    I have been connecting the FF400 via an external HD to the FW800 port on the MBP with no luck
    my issue is described well in the first post on this thread

    if anyone at RME or Apple would mind actually responding with some facts and possible work-arounds.. I am all ears but given that I have already waited more than 30 days for a response I am currently not optimistic

    if more folks have this issue with the Lucent FW chip... please raise your hand, stand up and shout... do something about it - perhaps Apple might be willing to swap our MBPs for units that actually work as intended!
     
  7. akdj macrumors 65816

    akdj

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    Alaska
    #7
    tbox,

    Read the above two posts...I have worked around with an external hard drive (with both FW 400/800 availability...you can plug the FF into the External HD which is connected via 800 to the computer) OR, a Firewire Hub.

    "and don't bother with an Expresscard FW adapter as that won't work any better."

    Is this true MasterNile? I was kind of hoping this was going to work;) Seriously though...we've had decent luck with expansion eSata and other peripherals for P2 (video) digestion.

    J
     
  8. tbox macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    #8
    thanks... the rig is working once again
    with 10.5.7 on the unibody MBP 2.8GHz

    you guys were a great help ;-)
     

Share This Page