Firewire on Unibody MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by logicpro7, May 26, 2009.

  1. logicpro7 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Location:
    London UK
    #1
    Is it true that the new unibody mbp's only have one firewire port?

    I am looking to upgrade from my old mbp but i need two firewire ports for a audio interface and a liquid mix compressor/eq

    There are no loop throughs on the audio devices so how can i connect both at the same time on the new mbp's? :confused:
     
  2. logicpro7 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Location:
    London UK
    #2
    I will also be buying the new 24" cinema display if that helps
     
  3. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
  4. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    Also you can daisy chain FW devices. Assuming those peripherals have 2 ports on them.
     
  5. chriszzz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    #5
    This question could have been answered by looking at Apple.com. Its not a big secret or anything.
     
  6. NovemberWhiskey macrumors 68030

    NovemberWhiskey

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    #6
    [​IMG]

    Looks to be true
     
  7. drewsof07 macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #7
    +1 for this, because even with two physical ports on the old MBP, they still went through a single controller card. I'm 99% sure about that. Others are probably more knowledgeable about it, but the way I understand it, the old MBP had a single split bus, not two independent FW buses.
     

Share This Page