Firmware password forgotten

Discussion in 'macOS' started by sytrusze, Nov 26, 2011.

  1. sytrusze macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    #1
    Dear members,

    is there anyway to recover or bypass my firmware password on my mac?
    I've already tried to change the amount of ram and resetting the PRAM but without succes.

    Can anyone help me out, would be much appreciated.
     
  2. cjmillsnun macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #2
    Time to visit the genius bar..
     
  3. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #3
    Interesting the RAM trick didn't work. What model do you have?
     
  4. sytrusze thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
  5. r1ctron1c macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    #5
    have u figure it out yet.
    ive got the same problem only the password i set does not work.
    im ready to smash my mbp.
    i can confirm that removing ram and holding opt+cmd+p+r at boot does not work.:confused:
     
  6. Kickk2Krookk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
  7. sytrusze thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    #7
    Still haven't found a solution, my MBP is laying around in my room collecting dust sadly..:( i could go to the Apple store, but they charge high prices for resetting the firmware pass, I might do this once i save up some money or someone comes up with a solution
     
  8. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    Are you simply assuming they charge a high price, or did you call and get a quote? I've never heard of them charging for resetting that password. My local Apple stores don't charge.
     
  9. sytrusze thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    #9
  10. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #10
  11. sytrusze thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    #11
    I know, but if they charge those prices for PC's, you can imagine what Apple charges :p

    but I will give a call to my local Apple Store though ;)
     
  12. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #12
    You're making erroneous assumptions without getting any facts. Apple doesn't charge for that service.
     
  13. sytrusze thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    #13
    Even without AppleCare?
     
  14. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #14
    Why do you keep asking here, when a single phone call will get you a definitive answer?
     
  15. sytrusze thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    #15
    I already told you I will, it's 9.30pm where i live so i can't phone them right now, in the meanwhile i'm looking for an answer online.
     
  16. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #16
    I've already told you. Apple does not charge to reset a firmware password.
     
  17. sytrusze thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    #17
    I've already asked you, even without AppleCare?
     
  18. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #18
    Yes, even without AppleCare. If that was a requirement, I would have said, "Apple does not charge to reset the password, as long as you have AppleCare."
     
  19. sytrusze thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    #19
    You never know, not everyone would mention that, but thanks anyway.
     

Share This Page