Firmware update locked itouch...help

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by Rowland, Jul 12, 2009.

  1. Rowland macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Location:
    Washington State
    #1
    I tried to upload newest ver. firmware on my itouch just to have it lock up with the image of the usb cable and itunes on the screen. No matter what I do it will not reset. itunes says I must restore it. I try and it fails with the same image mentioned before. I have tried to reset it with the two buttons but all it does is turn on and off. The apple image appears at first but then it goes back to the usb and itunes image. I do not know what to do. Any help will be appreciated.

    Thank you in advance,
    Rowland B.
     
  2. isaaclimdc macrumors 6502

    isaaclimdc

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
  3. Rowland thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Location:
    Washington State
    #3
    Locked up

    No this is a stock unit. I was just upgrading to the lastest firmware and you know the rest of the story.......

    RB
     
  4. isaaclimdc macrumors 6502

    isaaclimdc

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #4
    Wait a sec, did you buy this update? The new firmware costs $5.99 for iPod touch owners.
     
  5. Rowland thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Location:
    Washington State
    #5
    Lockup

    It was offered through the itunes site. There was no mention of cost.
     
  6. isaaclimdc macrumors 6502

    isaaclimdc

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #6
    Uh nope, then you must have done something wrong there. Check again. Firmware 3.0 is a $5.99 purchase through iTunes for iPod touch owners on Firmware 2.2.1. Maybe you downloaded the 3.1 beta that's only meant for developers. Check again.
     
  7. Rowland thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Location:
    Washington State
    #7
    Lock up

    How do I check? The itouch is locked up??
     
  8. KrazyKuul macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #8
    UPDATE ITUNES!!!!!!!!!!!!! u need the latest version to upgrade firmware.

    thats what happened when I tried to do mine.

    open iTunes, click Help, and then click Check For Updates. if you have the latest version, then you definitely should not have a problem. If you do though, put it in DFU mode. If you don't know how to do it, then do a simple google search. "put ipod in dfu mode", and restore from there.
     

Share This Page