Firmware Update Mac Pro 4,1

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by Taipan, Sep 25, 2017.

  1. Taipan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    #1
    Hi! This has probably been asked already, but I can‘t seem to find it:
    Last year I upgraded the firmware of my Mac Pro 4,1 to the one from 5,1 for Sierra. Now I just downloaded the final version of High Sierra, and at the start of the installation it says that it has to do a firmware upgrade for High Sierra. I‘m confused. Since my machine is not officially supported, why would it be offered a firmware upgrade? Does it do the same on an actual 5,1? And, most importantly, is it safe?
    Thanks!
     
  2. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #2
    This is the thread you're looking for: APFS support enabled in High Sierra for cMP
     
  3. Taipan thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
  4. Tizucumacu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #4
    i have the same question, is the Firmware Update safe for 6 core cmP 4,1->5,1 ?
     
  5. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #5
    Yes. I am running that now.
     
  6. aajeevlin macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    #6
    Yep same situation. Let it go through with the firmware updates and it proceeded to install just fine. Took about 45 minutes total.
     
  7. Tizucumacu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #7
    Thanks, i’m on High Sierra now also !
     

Share This Page

6 September 25, 2017