Firmware update Mojave only

Discussion in 'macOS Mojave (10.14)' started by Mac Hammer Fan, Oct 16, 2018.

  1. Mac Hammer Fan macrumors 6502a

    Mac Hammer Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Location:
    Belgium
    #1
    Can I run the installer and do only the firmware update from Mojave without converting to APFS and installing Mojave? I have a cMP 2009 5,1 with a nVidia Geforce GTX980.
    I want a link speed of 5 GT/s for my Videocard instead of 2,5 GT/s on Sierra and High Sierra.
     
  2. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #2
    It's not a problem to install the firmware update separately.
     
  3. Mac Hammer Fan thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Mac Hammer Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Location:
    Belgium
    #3
    I get this message:
    Installation of MacOS Mojave on this Mac requires that all graphic cards have Metal support and that FileVault is disabled.
    I use a Geforce 980 but there is also a GT120 installed without monitor.
     
  4. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #4
    You'll need to remove the GT120, most likely, since the message says "All graphic cards must have Metal support" and the GT120 does not.
     
  5. Mac Hammer Fan thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Mac Hammer Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Location:
    Belgium
    #5
    I removed the GT120 and tried the firmware update. But it was unsuccessful. The Mac shuts down but I am unable to produce the long beep. Therefore the GFX 980 is not supported. :(
     
  6. crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #6
    You do know there are multiple threads in the Mac Pro section that will tell you how to do this don’t you?
     
  7. Mac Hammer Fan, Oct 18, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2018

    Mac Hammer Fan thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Mac Hammer Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Location:
    Belgium
    #7
    Not with a gfx 980 but with other cards.
    I can’t borrow a metal comparible card to do the firmwareupdate. I don.’t know anyone in my environment who has such a card.
     
  8. crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #8
    It can still be done, but it’s probabl something you shouldn’t try. I never use the macOS installer to load new firmwares. If you do some reading and research you can learn. Plenty of related threads discussing, but it may not be worth the effort for you. You just need to do some forum searching. Sorry I’m not more help, but I’m in my sickbed, on an iPad. Not up to doing this for you today.
     

Share This Page