Firmware upgrade question - not main iTunes computer

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by TraceyS/FL, Jan 5, 2009.

  1. TraceyS/FL macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #1
    My BIL is here in FL, his computer is in CA.

    He can't sync to my computer obviously - but it's asking if he wants to upgrade his firmware. The "important notes" just says, "should be on the computer used sync the iTunes media".

    Is there anyway we can do that upgrade from my computer? We all want to play games! LOL!!

    Thanks for any tips/hints/info.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. bradenwh macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    #2
    Yes. You can upgrade from any computer. All of his media will stay intact, since the update only touches the OS part of the iPod.

    His iPod will be exactly like it was, but with the new firmware. I've updated my friend's iPod Touch on my computer loads of times.
     
  3. TraceyS/FL thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #3
    OH thank you!!!! You made my morning.

    Means i get to play with the Touch until i take him to the airport on Monday! LOL!!!!

    HE's excited - means less of a boring plane ride home.
     
  4. TraceyS/FL thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    North Central Florida
    #4
    OK, so what does this message mean then????
     

    Attached Files:

  5. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #5
    looks like you really have to do it on his computer to preserve the songs. I hope you clicked cancel.
     

Share This Page