First AW.... Cannot decide between SBSS or SS. Help me end this indecision.

wiffle

macrumors regular
Original poster
Apr 5, 2017
I've wanted an AW since Series 2... and am finally committing to purchasing a Series 4. I know I'm going stainless - just cannot choose between Stainless Steel or Space Black. I had originally thought I wanted SS, but after some input from friends who all think I should get SBSS and even after trying both out in store I simply cannot decide. Help me figure this out.

A couple points that might be relevant...
  • I'm in the gym doing something active 6 days a week, and yoga the other day. Most of my gym-gear is black... and admittedly, I think the SBSS is a better touch as the SS sticks out like a sore thumb while working out.
  • I work in health care, and occasionally worry that the shine of the SS will be offputting to some of my patients. That being said, I do think that the SS is easier to dress up for business-casual wear.
  • I have fairly tan skin, and my wardrobe is, in general, not very colourful.
  • I'm torn for the band choices.. I know the SS has more combinations but realistically, considering how often I'm working out, it's probably going to be the sports band or loop on it 99% of the time. I also doubt I'd buy Apple OEM bands considering how many good (and more affordable) alternatives there are...
  • Is there durability considerations for the SS vs. SBSS? After some light reading, I get the sense that the SBSS is slightly more durable and less prone to scratches, which in any case can be buffed out.
What did you choose, and why? Happy to answer any other questions so I can finally get down to this and just buy a damn watch!

Relentless Power

macrumors Nehalem
Jul 12, 2016