First external display, need help workspace efficiency

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by ThomasW91, Aug 12, 2009.

1. ThomasW91 macrumors newbie

Hey there everyone, had a hard time coming up with a title for this thread but I have just purchased a Dell 2408wfp display to go with my Macbook Pro. I'm pretty new to running displays with laptops and this is my first laptop as well. I've got the stuff down about moving the virtual positioning of the display, but what I am struggling with is full screen stuff. When using Aperture moved over to the display, pressing F for fullscreen opens the full screen image back over on my Macbook Pro, which doesn't make sense because the application is on the external display.

Another thing, is it possible to use Front Row on an external display without using the mirror mode? I use both my Macbook Pro screen and external display but I would like to be able to watch movies and such on the external.

I'm sure there are some little tricks I am missing out on but I'm loving it for the most part. I downloaded a color profile for my Macbook Pro from someone on here about a month ago, and today found a profile for the 2408wfp but it does not let me pull it up under the display preferences even after copying it to the folder of various profiles.

Basically I'm just having issues with programs and full screen modes + front row, and loading color profiles for the new display. Thanks a lot!

2. Baggy Spandex macrumors 6502

Baggy Spandex