First generation MacBook Vs last gen MacBook ?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by bontempi, May 14, 2008.

1. bontempi macrumors member

hello

i bought my core duo 2.0 ghz MacBook the day it came out two years ago.

i was wondering if the latest 2.4 ghz core 2 duo would feel any faster.

i'm a music composer and use logic pro intensively.

would i feel a noticeable difference or just a non significant speed bump ? also, did the bus evolve ?

thanks !

2. aneftp macrumors 68040

Always going to be some performance improvements between previous intel chips and new chips.

Seriously if you've max out the first gen macbook in RAM (2GB) with your Intel Duo Core processor, the difference does not warrant and upgrade to the newer 45nm Intel Santa Rosa (Penyn) based chips.

It's like comparing a current generation BMW series (the 2006 (325i) model vs the 2007 model (328i). Same body shape, same style , almost similar engines, some performance difference, but not enough to warranty a brand new macbook to improve your daily computer habits.

Now if you were upgrading from an iBook to the current Macbook, than you would notice a difference in your audio programs.

The bus speed will not make a significant difference.

3. siurpeeman macrumors 603

siurpeeman

what i couldn't stand about the core duo macbook (in my brief week of owning one) was the high pitched noise always coming from it. it drove me nuts, and i replaced it with a 2.2 ghz macbook immediately. the speed differences are subtle, but they're there. if you haven't maxed out your ram yet, that's probably the best way to notice a significant speed increase.

4. TravisReynolds macrumors regular

TravisReynolds

Yeah, people are saying just max out the ram. They are 100% correct.

Just like you, I got the MacBook the day it came out. I had 1GB of ram, and I perform some heavy application on my MacBook. I love to use iMovie A LOT.