Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Trillium

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 24, 2007
I Just got my very first Mac this week, a new 24" iMac, and I'm just blown away. For months had been trying to decide between a mac pro with an ACD or an iMac.

I'm a professional photographer and just want to let any other photogs out there know that these new iMacs won't leave you wishing you had purchased a pro(something I was worried about).

The rig I have, a 3.06g w/ 4gigs of ram, runs Photoshop CS3 and Lightroom at lightning speed. I get zero progress bars and it runs perfectly silent. The screen is amazingly beautiful and I've been pouring through hundreds of older photos just to see how much better they look on the screen. The screen is so sharp and crisp that I'm now noticing dust spots that slipped through on photos I had adjusted on my previous monitor.

Since most people only post when they have a problem, I wanted to go ahead and give some very positive feedback for anyone who's been debating getting an iMac.

.... Now I just have to hold out 2 more weeks for the 3g iPhone!

NStocks

macrumors 68000
Apr 3, 2008
England
Great, i'm thinking of getting a similar setup which will also be used for photography, and my first ever Mac. Did you upgrade the graphic at all, if not is the colour reproduction still very good?

NStocks

Nordichund

macrumors 6502
Aug 21, 2007
Oslo, Norway
I Just got my very first Mac this week, a new 24" iMac, and I'm just blown away. For months had been trying to decide between a mac pro with an ACD or an iMac.

I'm a professional photographer and just want to let any other photogs out there know that these new iMacs won't leave you wishing you had purchased a pro(something I was worried about).

Since most people only post when they have a problem, I wanted to go ahead and give some very positive feedback for anyone who's been debating getting an iMac.