First Mac. Ever.

Discussion in 'iMac' started by cptn.nemo, Aug 2, 2016.

1. cptn.nemo macrumors regular

Hey guys, I'm a college student going for graphic design and I'm looking at buying my first Mac ever. Aside from an iPhone I've been with Windows all my life, and I hear you can't beat macs for design, hopefully that's true. Im looking at the top tier 27" iMac with i7 4.0, 8gb ram (will go to 24 myself) m395x graphics and a 2tb fusion or pure ssd. I'm leaning more towards the ssd now since the fusion has mixed reviews and I like managing my own file storage. I also want to do some "light" gaming of battlefield 1, battlefront, and titanfall 2 even if they run on low settings. However most of my time will be spent in illustrator photoshop and after effects with light 4K video editing for fun.
    So my question is are macs really better for design? Do I need one for college, and will this machine last 5-7 years? Or should I just buy a good pc and get a MacBook Pro to show off to clients. I'm also considering a Mac Pro from eBay, because I'd like to update components in a few years, is this a wise move?
    I'm completely new to the Mac world so any suggestions for buying would be appreciated.

2. Goody13 macrumors member

Why would you want to get a Macbook Pro to "show off"? Surely you get the most appropriate tool.

I have just bought my first Mac and am slowly getting to grips with the change from Windows. It's not instant though, and I'm trying to sort out photo storage at the moment.

Good luck, whatever you choose.

3. MCAsan macrumors 601

MCAsan

Bear with me on this.....design is done in apps that sit above OS and underlying hardware. So first and foremost, get the OS/HW platform that best runs the apps you need. As a retiree I had the freedom to dump the Win world just as Win8 Beta arrived. The wife and I went Apple ecosystem (rMBP, iPhone, iPad, watch). Going Apple can be an ecosystem decision beyond something on the desktop.