First Mac for UK Student.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by smallguy, Nov 5, 2011.

1. smallguy macrumors regular

Hi, Im interested in purchasing my first mac :), Probably used and would be a Macbook Pro 13inch.

Do you think this is a good Mac as im a student and as it will be my first ever mac.

Thanks

2. Mersailios macrumors regular

What sort of tasks are you looking to accomplish?

3. smallguy thread starter macrumors regular

Just general things really. iWork, Web browsing, CS5 possibly, Videos etc.

Thanks

4. Mersailios, Nov 5, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2011

Mersailios macrumors regular

If that's the case, a 13-inch MacBook Pro will suit your needs quite well.

Have you considered looking at the Apple Online Store for a refurbished computer? It's a great way to save some money not to mention you get a computer that's in excellent condition and has been fully inspected and comes with a 1 year AppleCare warranty.

Here's the link to the Apple Online Store showing refurbished 13-inch MacBook Pros: http://store.apple.com/uk/browse/home/specialdeals/mac/macbook_pro/13

5. stridemat Moderator

stridemat

Staff Member

Also take a look at the Apple Education store online.

6. tbear1 macrumors regular

It sounds kind of silly, but buy the newest one you can. The do get better with each release. There are a lot of people that weren't happy that they moved to the Intel integrated graphics with the recent switch to the Sandy Bridge micro-architecture. But I have not heard a lot of complaints from actual users.

Glenn

7. smallguy thread starter macrumors regular

I live in the UK so i couldnt really buy off the US Refurb store. You dont get a student discount on apple refurbished computers do you?

8. szolr macrumors 6502

The 13 inch Macbook Pro will be a great starting point into the world of Apple/Macs. For all but solid video editing in Final Cut or Premiere you should be fine. :cool: