First Mac - Only seems to have windows

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Krz2os, Jan 28, 2008.

  1. Krz2os macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #1
    Hello i just bought this mac second hand and it seems to just boot into windows everytime i start it up?

    it came with a cd called bootcamp and the orginial mac tiger cds

    how do i get it to run tiger and is there anyway i can install a fresh version on xp?

    its a macbook pro 2.0 core due with 100GB HD and 1G ram and 256 graphics

    Thanks
    Chris
     
  2. Krz2os thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    #2
    ok so 5sec google seach resulted in me discovering the option key :)

    but i would like to re-format the whole thing and keep windows/tiger so if anyone has a link to a tute that would be great - thanks
     
  3. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #3
    You'll need all the CDs and the likes to reformat. If you want Windows you'll need a Windows CD to install that again. The 'bootcamp' CD you have will be all the Windows drivers you need to install after installing Windows.

    If you want to reformat still, you just need to insert the Tiger disc and it'll sort everything out for you from there.

    If you want to automatically Boot into Tiger, in Windows goto Control Panel and then Startup Disc (I think it's called that, not 100% sure). You'll be able to choose the Tiger disc, and it'll automatically boot into Tiger.

    Or if your allready in Tiger, goto Pref. Panel then Startup Disc. Then choose your Tiger Disc, and it'll automatically boot into that.
     
  4. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Restart and hold down Alt, it should then give the option to boot into OS X.
     
  5. erikpmort macrumors regular

    erikpmort

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    #5
    and remember if you would like it to boot into osx without holding down the option key, just go into start up disk and select osx under system prefs.
     

Share This Page