First Mac - should I use a firewall?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by tctk, Sep 30, 2008.

1. tctk macrumors newbie

I am new to the macintosh ecosystem - just got a brand-new iMac and so far, it has been a tremendous experience. However, back when I used an ugly and noisy tower running Windows, I was attacked at least once in a hour - Kaspersky blocked the IP addresses, but the intruders kept coming back. Fearing Mac OS X was still concerned by these, I installed Little Snitch, and I hated it. The lack of having to authorize everything and being assaulted by dialog boxes was the very reason I switched to Mac OS X. Is my computer really impervious to attacks and should I do something about it? Thanks in advance, for helping me and welcoming me into this forum which I hope I will contribute to. :D

2. JNB macrumors 604

JNB

Even if your Mac is the only device connected to the internet, a NAT router is always a good bet. That, and the built-in firewall (not perfect, but keeps the obvious services shut down) are usually enough to shunt most of the annoying crap. Since I went away from a direct connect, I've had zero hits, and essentially "don't exist" publicly.

3. tctk thread starter macrumors newbie

Thank you for the prompt reply. However, I use a PPPOE connection paired with a broadband modem - I guess that doesn't qualify. Might buy a NAT router, tho. Any other suggestions?

4. eRondeau macrumors 6502a

eRondeau