First Mac. wondering why when running a tv show has ads?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Bebe_Dahling, Aug 20, 2015.

  1. Bebe_Dahling macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Location:
    Missouri
    #1
    I am such a newbie at this I couldn't even figure out how to do a search so add that information to your answer.

    I just ran Uverse TV show on us.com. It was the same web page as I ran in Windows 7 on my other laptop. On the Mac, it shows commercials at the beginning and appears to do so throughout the show. On the Windows running in Google the show ran without commercials.

    The logical though would be to open google in Safari and run again. Nope, still had commercials. Now why would that be the situation? I can't wait to find out. I am sure it is simply a setting or something. Well, hopefully that is.

    I am just trying to wrap my brain around how this processor is different than Windows. Like I said, this is my first Mac. I've been using Windows forever. This is a bold change for me. Into the unknown and I've encountered my first snafu.

    The fun begins to transfer files and move a zillion photos over. Any suggestions how to go about doing that. I do have a wireless network in the house. Is there an app that will allow the Windows LT to take control of the Mac or vice versa and just drag files across? What is the easiest way to go?

    Also, if there are going to be issues for other software running on Windows to the Mac should I partition off part of the HD for Windows? Is there a Mac For Dummies Book?

    I will thank you in advance for any and all helpful responses.
     
  2. Inutopia macrumors 6502

    Inutopia

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    #2
    Perhaps you had the adblocker browser extension installed on the windows machine?
     
  3. dmylrea macrumors 68000

    dmylrea

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    #3
    I think the OP is saying that the beginning of the show has commercials, and more throughout the show. I doubt that would be blocked using an ad blocker, as it's part of the actual video stream.

    I'm thinking it has something to do with IP or location detection or some sort of cookies being detected on the system. It could be the Windows system has different security settings in the browser.
     
  4. thornslack macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    #4
    I second the adblocker theory. It does block in-program commercials in many instances. The OP can install extensions like that in Firefox or other third party browsers on his Mac for the same experience.
     
  5. Bebe_Dahling thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Location:
    Missouri
    #5
    I do have Ad Blocker installed on my Win. LT. If I can install on the Mac I will be a happy camper. Thanks to all of you for your help.
     

Share This Page