Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Izaiah

macrumors regular
Original poster
Apr 12, 2013
FL
So I'm looking to get my first Apple computer and I'm having trouble deciding what to get.

I work full time and often lug my 5.5lb laptop to my job to web browse and work on homework between my clients. A 3-3.5lbs computer would be amazing. I'm also a college student, but it's Women's & Gender Studies so I'll really only need the computer for iWork/MS Office and web browsing(up to 20 tabs open at a time). No photo/video editing, gaming, or other resource intensive stuff.

I'm coming from a really cheap interim PC with an AMD 300, 4GB RAM, and 320GB HDD(with 214GB free at the moment). I use iCloud and Google Drive for my docs, music, and photos.

Now here's my dilemma with options(all 13 inch models):

MBA 4/128 for $900

rMBP 4/128 for $1150

MBA 8/128 for $1139

MBA 8/256 for $1339

rMBP 8/256 for $1349

I think the base MBA is a really good deal and I think it would be ok for my needs. I like the base rMBP, but I'm not sure if my usage warrants $250 more for the retina.

And I know many people say to try to get 8GB of RAM, but is it worth the mid-tier price jump for the MBA? At that price point I'd be getting pretty damn close to the mid-tier rMBP. Then again, maybe the MBA 8/128 is an option, though it's still $239 for those 4GB of RAM.

There is a chance that I am overthinking this lol. None of the configs are going to break my wallet, but I'm also not necessarily going to throw several hundred dollars at upgrades I don't need.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Last edited:

r0k

macrumors 68040
Mar 3, 2008
Detroit
So I'm looking to get my first Apple computer and I'm having trouble deciding what to get.